Friday Challenge / Salads / Tofu

Sweet Marinated Tofu and Noodle Salad


From the last few recipes I’ve made I know that the key was to create a good balance of flavours. I think I have managed to do this with this recipe as there is a sweet marinade, hot fresh red chilli and a mix of steamed green veg and crunchy stirfried carrots!

This recipe is influenced by the Wagamamas tofu soup as I focused on the flavours used in the broth to help me work out a good balance for this dish. I also loved the idea of adding a crunchy element along with the soft tofu like they did with the carrot in the soup – I have done this on two different levels, with crunchy stirfried carrot and then also a topping of crushed peanuts.

The great thing about this recipe too is that you can add in any vegetables you fancy and make it seasonal. Also don’t panic by the long list of ingredients as most of it can be bought cheaply or will last a while. For example, slice your lemon up into wedges, squeeze the amount you need for the recipe and put the rest in the freezer to add to drinks with ice in the summer! Also when buying ginger, unless you use it alot you can always snap a piece off in the shop and only buy roughly what you need! My last piece of ginger cost 4p!

This salad is best served at ‘Room temperature’ but you could serve it hot too if preferred.

marinade ingredients:

2 tablespoons Soy Sauce
1 Garlic clove (crushed)
1 inch Ginger (finely chopped)
1 teaspoon Mirin (or rice vinegar)
Squeeze Lemon
1 teaspoon Honey
1 tablespoon Water

Marinate 150g Cubed/ Sliced Firm Tofu for atleast 2 hours but preferably over night.

Salad Ingredients:

120g Dried Egg Noodles
6 florets of Brocolli (sliced into smaller pieces)
80g Mangetout
80g Sugar Snap peas
6 spears of Asparagus
1 Carrot (Julienned)
1/2 Red Onion (diced)
1 Red Chilli (De-seeded and sliced)
Handful Toasted Peanuts (Crushed)
Handful Sesame seeds
Sweet Chilli Sauce
Toasted Sesame Oil for frying

Boil the dried egg noodles in a pan untill soft, then drain them in a colander and refresh them by running cold water through them.

In a pan steam the brocolli, Mangetout, Sugar snap Peas and asparagus for untill al dente, this can take around 4-5 minutes. Taste one after a while to see if it’s still too crunchy.

Take your tofu out of the marinade and pat it dry on some kitchen towel. Heat 1 tablespoon of toasted sesame oil in a wok or non stick pan untill really hot, then fry the tofu for 1-2 minutes on each side (you may need to do this in batches). Then place back on some kitchen towel untill needed.
Add the carrot, red onion and chilli and stirfry for 1-2 minutes untill softened but still with a bite!

Put all the ingredients in a bowl and using your hands gently combine them so that everything is mixed. Serve up and top with the peanuts, sesame seeds and Sweet Chilli Sauce.

I’ve really enjoyed my tofu journey! I’ve learnt how to prepare it, what to cook it with, how to cook it and how to store it! February brings a whole new challenge which I am going to focus on Polenta! This is an ingredient (like tofu) that I have never cooked with before and I’m not really sure what to expect. I’ve seen it on restaurant menu’s teamed with pork belly or mushroom ragu so I’m wondering if I can turn it from a side dish into a vegetarian main!

9 thoughts on “Sweet Marinated Tofu and Noodle Salad

  1. Pingback: How to create the perfect veggie bowl! My new favourite dinner! | veghotpot

  2. Pingback: Broccoli, Radish and Lemon Pasta | veghotpot

    • Thank you :) I’m trying to do that abit more and build a theme to the photos not just photograph the food so hopefully they’ll keep getting a bit better as I practise x

  3. This salad sounds so fresh and healthy! I love the flavors you put in there. It reminds me of my favorite cold noodle dish I always get at vietnamese restaurants.

  4. Mmm, this looks great. I agree that it’s the sweet/salty/spicy/sour balance that makes a dish like this. As for the polenta, I don’t think there’s much that improves a hot bowl of polenta more than a fried egg over a pile of garlicky greens. But I also make a polenta “lasagna”: layer slices of polenta, spinach mixed with goat cheese, and a spicy tomato sauce (then repeat); top with some mozzarella and parmesan for that bubbly cheesy crust, then shred a ton of fresh basil on top the minute it comes out of the oven. Yum.

    • Hey, thanks for the suggestions with Polenta :) the fried egg/ garlicky greens idea sounds AMAZING!! I will definitely be trying that! I think a fried egg makes everything better hehe x

I love hearing what you all have to say!

