Gluten Free / Pasta / Product Reviews

Rizopia Organic Brown Rice Pasta – Gluten Free Product Review

I actually bought this product a long time before considering going gluten free because I wanted to find something for Scott’s lunches so that he could still have pasta but a healthier version. This brand is called Rizopia, they make all different types of pastas such as spaghetti, fusilli, wild rice pasta, lasagna sheets etc and I found it in my local health food shop.

rice pasta

Image Source – http://www.goodnessdirect.co.uk (click on image to go to website)

Rizopia have a  Zero Tolerance Allergen Free Policy: No Wheat, No Gluten, No Dairy, No Nuts, No Egg, No Fish, No Soy. This means this pasta is pretty much suitable for anyone, unless your allergic to rice! It tastes just the same as pasta, especially once you’ve added your chosen pasta sauce! We couldn’t tell the difference in taste.

We could definitely tell the difference in texture though as once cooked rice pasta is a bit chewy and you can’t achieve the same al dente feel that you can with normal pasta. I found that if you cook it for around 30 minutes then it becomes less chewy and much softer. Also you have to rinse it well, similarly to rice, as I found that it was quite starchy after cooking.

Scott decided he didn’t like it but I have carried on eating it because I think it’s just as nice as normal pasta and it is perfect for when I fancy pasta now I am on my gluten free diet.

DSC_1699

Uncooked Brown Rice Penne Pasta

I think the price was a little steep, I paid £4.95 for 500g, which compared to £1.68 for 500g of normal pasta in the supermarket is really expensive however I have found it a bit cheaper online for around £3.95 for 500g which is a bit better. Plus I guess you pay for quality of ingredients and the fact it is organic.

I will definitely be trying different types of gluten free pasta, the one thing I was very aware of when starting this was that I did not want to swap “real” bread and pasta etc for “free from” products which had just replaced the wheat and gluten with chemicals. I was drawn to this pasta because it had very natural ingredients (Brown rice, rice bran and water) and I liked that it was organic.

DSC_1706

Cooked Brown Rice Penne Pasta

What gluten free brands have you tried before? What one item (ie bread, pasta, cake) can you simply not live without on your gluten free diet? For example I have not bothered trying gluten free bread yet but I really want some gluten free biscuits :)

5 thoughts on “Rizopia Organic Brown Rice Pasta – Gluten Free Product Review

  1. I’ve tried a variety of gluten free pastas, and I have to admit, rice pasta is not my favorite. I don’t know if I’m just not cooking it right, but I just don’t like the texture. I do love quinoa pasta though!! I can even get my family to eat that, which is nice because I hate making two different pots of pasta!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

