Breakfast / Fruit / Gluten Free / Puddings / Vegan

Flax and Banana Pancakes: 3 ingredients, Gluten-free and Vegan

DSC_2099

These pancakes are perfect served with banana, blueberries and maple syrup!

I’ve never really had much of a sweet tooth but when I was stood in the kitchen with this plate of fluffy sweet pancakes in one hand and a fork in the other I actually did a little dance and said out loud (to myself) “oh wow, oh my, yummy” haha. So apparently these pancakes will make you dance and talk to yourself!

Tuesday is pancake day (shrove Tuesday) and I wanted to find something a bit different to try so I researched gluten free pancakes. I found an intriguing recipe for pancakes with just mashed banana and eggs! I know that in baking you can replace eggs for ground flax mixed with water so I decided to see if this would work for these pancakes. Instead of water I used hemp milk to give it an added sweetness and creaminess. I also added a good sprinkle of cinnamon.

The pancakes are soft and fluffy but quite delicate. I found it was easier to flip them with the traditional ( and more exciting) flick of the frying pan rather than trying to use a spatula. The taste of banana comes through quite strong and my choice of milk made them quite sweet but I actually really liked that!

DSC_2107

An indulgent way to benefit from the goodness of flax!

Serves 2
Wheat and gluten free, vegan, awesome

1 large banana
3 tablespoons ground flax seed
6 tablespoons hemp/ soya/ almond milk
1 teaspoon cinnamon (optional)
Dairy free butter or coconut oil for frying

The method for this recipe is as simple as the shopping list of ingredients. Mash the banana then mix with all the other ingredients and stir really well until you have a thick consistency.

In a frying pan, heat the butter or oil on a low to medium heat until it starts to bubble slightly. Take a dessert spoonful size of the pancake mix and pour it into the pan and using the back of the spoon spread it out to shape it into a round disc around 1cm thick.

Cook on one side for approx 1-2 minutes and then flip over and cook for a further 1 min.

Continue until all the mix is gone, makes around 6 pancakes, then top with sliced banana, blueberries, maple syrup and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

DSC_2108

And hey, why not serve these to your loved one for valentines day! Other topping ideas include:

Chocolate sauce and raspberries
Orange zest and chocolate chips
Lemon juice and sugar
Fresh figs and yoghurt

14 thoughts on “Flax and Banana Pancakes: 3 ingredients, Gluten-free and Vegan

  1. You are lucky not having much of a sweet tooth… all I have is a sweet tooth and eating healthy is always a struggle! This is a really nice alternative recipe for me.. will give it a try!

  2. Mm pancakes. They are my new soft spot for a healthy but sweet breakfast in the morning. Haha reading that you said “oh wow, oh my, yummy” made me laugh. Your pancakes look delicious!

  3. I can’t believe I missed Shroves Tuesday. That’s what comes with living on the continent. Well I intend to make up for it this weekend! Love this recipe!

  4. Pingback: Vegan and Gluten Free Banana and Oat Cookies: Peanut Butter or Choc Chip (4 Ingredients!) | veghotpot

  5. Pingback: Some Tips on How to Include Raw Foods Into Your Everyday meals | veghotpot

  6. These just stuck to the pan and/or didn’t cook all the way through for me after trying three times. The batter never seemed to solidify, and when I attempted to flip it the bottom was burnt.
    Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

    • Hey, thanks for the feedback sorry you’ve had trouble with them! Sounds like your pan is too hot if they are burning before cooking all the way through so try a lower heat with a little vegan butter or oil in the pan to stop them sticking. Then also if your using really ripe bananas it may be an idea to add a little more flax, see if that helps make them more firm! I hope that helps :) Please let me know how you get on

    • Hi Victoria, Sounds like your pan migt not have been hot enough? These will never be “hard” however they should be able to stay together in the pan. Maybe use a less ripe banana too? :) Hope those suggestions work for you next time! x

I love hearing what you all have to say!

