Appetisers/ Starters

Quinoa Stuffed Beef Tomatoes- No Bake Summer Recipe!

DSC_1123

As soon as the sun comes out I want to start tucking into tomatoes! When I have been on holiday to Spain or France before I’m always amazed by the huge misshapen but beautifully ripe tomatoes you get there! Sometimes I think the uglier the tomato the better the flavour. We would just have platters of thick sliced tomatoes along with crackers and pâté and manchego, such a perfect lunch.

The tomatoes I managed to get my hands on this week were big and very juicy but still missing that Spanish sun ripeness that is lost in a supermarket tomato. I decided to stuff them but not bake them as I wanted this dish to be as fresh as possible. I used quinoa, red onion, avocado, feta cheese, herbs and chilli flakes so it is really healthy but also deceptively substantial as a meal or side.

DSC_1105

Tomatoes are incredibly good for you, they contain vitamin c and have anti oxidants which can protect against cancers. I love them cooked or raw, for breakfast, lunch or dinner! Sometimes when I’m feeling extra healthy I love to cook a breakfast of scrambled eggs served on slices of ripe beef tomato with plenty of black pepper and fresh basil. Eaten by the open patio doors to the garden preferably so I can enjoy the start of the day at its best.

We have a blackbird nest at the bottom of our garden and the mother and father blackbirds are always on the lawn digging around for extra bedding or food. We’ve named the dad Frank! I love watching them scurry around and hurry back to the nest in the tree.

This recipe could be part of a spread of different salads or eaten simply with a side salad. You could bake it in the oven of you don’t like raw tomato and of course you can omit the feta cheese if you are vegan. Even though I am lactose intolerant I can eat a little bit of cheese every now and then, you could always remove the cheese or try goats cheese if you aren’t sure.

DSC_1126

Makes 3 large tomatoes

Gluten and Wheat free, Vegetarian, Vegan option

3 Large Beef Tomatoes
1/4 cup Dry Quinoa
1/2 Red Onion
1/2 Large Avocado
25g (thick slice) Feta Cheese (optional)
Large bunch Basil and Parsley
Chilli Flakes
Black Pepper

Run a knife around the top of the tomatoes to begin cutting out the lid. Using the

I love hearing what you all have to say!

