Gluten Free / Lunch / Salads / Snacks

Broccoli and Feta Dip with a Basic ‘House Salad’

DSC_1231

Served with Pitta Bread too!

I’ve been eating a lot of Hummous recently with my salads and I really fancied a change (even though I absolutely love hummous!). I decided to use my favourite vegetable, broccoli, to make a sort of dip, sort of thick salad dressing which will add some interest to my salads without too many extra calories. I’m really watching my weight at the moment just because the sun has started to come out and a few pub gardens were frequented…a few ciders and bowls of chips were enjoyed….a few lazy days turned into picnics etc. It all adds up and my shorts which I have finally pulled out of the wardrobe from last summer felt just that tiny bit too tight for my liking!!

The thing is, I love food! I’m not the sort of person that can just cut down on what I eat, I feel it is better to change what I eat instead. Now hummous is not bad for you by any means but I was more getting bored of it and wanted to swap it with something equally as healthy.

If you have just joined me after the virtual vegan potluck and you do follow a vegan diet then don’t worry as most of my recipes are vegan and I always try and offer an alternative vegan option to my recipes :) For example, I couldn’t resist using feta in this dip because it went so wonderfully with the flavours but you could use cooked white beans, vegan cream cheese, or even tofu! I rarely buy cheese so next time I make this I will definitely be using white beans such as cannelini beans.

DSC_1245

You can serve it on the side or pour it onto your salad

I’ve used the term “House ” Salad here because it has a bit of everything in it! At restaurants they always have a house salad on the menu and it’s always different. I think it’s kind of a “used up everything in the house” salad! For my salad today I used lettuce, cucumber, tomatoes, radishes, red onion, spring onion (only use one type of onion or no onion if you plan on breathing near people after eating!), black olives and celery. This is my standard list of salad vegetables that I put on my food shop list every week.

Serves 4

Vegetarian, Gluten and Wheat Free, Vegan option!

8 – 10 Broccoli Florets (approx 150g)
60g Feta/ Vegan Cheese – or a handful of Cooked beans
Large Bunch Basil Leaves
Salt and Pepper
Splash of Water

Steam the broccoli for 5 minutes until cooked but not mushy otherwise the dip will be quite watery. Place the broccoli along with everything else except the water and blend in a high power blender until smooth… or as I did in a really old blender for ages! If it needs it then add a splash of water until you have a nice creamy consistency.

DSC_1235

5 thoughts on “Broccoli and Feta Dip with a Basic ‘House Salad’

  1. Wish I lived near your local grocery!! But yes your right making your own is more rewarding, and better for you :) ooo that’s interesting that you’ve been eating vegan, would love to know what sort of things you’ve been cooking :) and how you got your son on board! Hehe

    Sorry to hear you had a bug! Hope your better now xx

  2. My local grocery store just started carrying hummus made from every bean imaginable – white beans, lentils, red beans, etc. It would be easy to buy it pre-made, but I’ve been inspired to make my own. Making your own dip is so easy and fun, and now I have another option with your broccoli recipe.

    You won’t believe this, but I’ve actually been eating Vegan for two weeks now, and other than the nasty stomach bug which got me for a few days, I feel great! I even have my teenage son on board :)

I love hearing what you all have to say!

