Gluten Free / Lentils / Main Course / Rice / Vegan

Vegan Brown Rice and Lentil ‘Jambalaya’ with a Rainbow of veggies!

DSC_1672

A really easy way to incorporate tonnes of veg!

I lived on this dish when I was at university because I could use up lots of vegetables and then it is bulked up with cheap ingredients such as rice, lentils or beans. I remember ringing my mum to tell her about my recipe and she shared a great story about how when she was 18 she would make “sausage rice” every day as it was easy, cheap, tasty and a perfect dish when learning how to cook. One day my dad came home with a box of steaks and begged her to cook anything but the rice as they had eaten it continuously for weeks! I am completely the same, once I find something me and Scott both equally like I find myself repeating it over and over. I am happy to eat a repeated dinner but Scott gets bored really quickly and begs for something new! Funny how my mum growing up had the same experience!

It seems crazy now but I remember in my second year at uni I had the same bag of red lentils in my cupboard for nearly a year! I just had no idea how to use them and I thought they would be complicated with the need for soaking etc. Now I literally throw them into everything! As long as there is enough liquid they get popped in for an added bulk and some extra nutrition.
DSC_1679

This recipe is a vegan adaptation of my beloved university recipe which I used to make with chicken and sausages (like a traditional jambalaya) however I never knew it was called jambalaya I used to call it “all in rice”. I believe Jambalaya does mean “jumbled in” but I may have made that up in my head!? Either way this rice dish is extremely versatile and a brilliant way to cram tonnes of veggies into a delicious one pot meal.

1 Onion,
2 Peppers,
1 Courgette,
Small bunch Parsley (stalks and leaves separated)
2 garlic cloves,
1 red chilli
Large Bunch Kale,
1/2 tspn each of Cumin Seeds, Ground Ginger, Cayenne Pepper and Smoked Paprika,
Seasoning
Small Bunch Dried Thyme
150g (1 cup) Brown Rice,
60g (1/2 cup) Red Lentils,
1 can Chopped Tomatoes
800ml veg stock

To prepare your vegetables -Peel and chop the onion. Deseed and chop the pepper. Slice/ dice the courgette. Separate the parsley stalks from the leaves, put the leaves to one side and finely chop the stalks. Peel and crush the garlic. De seed and Finely slice the chilli.

Fry the onion, pepper and courgette  for 3-4 minutes then add the parsley stalks, garlic and chilli and fry for further 2-3 mins. Add the kale and all of the spices, seasoning and thyme. Cook for 5-6 mins then add the rice, lentils, tomatoes and 500ml of the vegetable stock . Cook on simmer for 35 minutes checking every 10 mins to add more stock. You should use around 800ml stock in total. Cook until fully absorbed and rice is cooked.

DSC_1688

Serve with any greens you like, I happened to have some spare asparagus!

7 thoughts on “Vegan Brown Rice and Lentil ‘Jambalaya’ with a Rainbow of veggies!

  1. I sniffed around this recipe MOST carefully for anything vaguely resembling my nemesis okra…it seems to be benign in the okra stakes so I might just put off my soup eating for a day and make this for tea tonight. It looks delicious…at the first sign of any of that mucilaginous goop turning up I am OUTTA HERE! ;)

I love hearing what you all have to say!

