Beans/ Legumes / Gluten Free / Lunch / Salads / Vegan

Apple, Broccoli and Butterbean Salad with a Walnut Dressing

DSC_2112

Fresh and Tasty salad with a crunchy yet sweet walnut dressing :)

I love having salads for lunch, especially during the week at work where I am sat down all day, but I sometimes struggle to come up with new and interesting ideas. Often my salads are literally anything I can get my hands on that is leftover in the fridge, which means they can be just a mix match of flavours.

Every now and then however I spend some time and thought on a salad and come up with a combination which goes together like wine and cheese! This salad includes flavours which were made to be put together! Apple, Walnuts, Lemon and Thyme, then I threw in some extras from the fridge such as watercress, cucumber and butterbeans! mmm so delicious!

DSC_2113

Watercress has to be stirfried in my opinion, it brings out a lovely savoury flavour

I got the idea for the dressing after staying with my mum in France, she has a huge walnut tree in the garden and therefore an abundance of walnuts! She made me her version of walnut dressing which was delicious and I decided to give it a go myself :) I didn’t have the same ingredients at home so instead of dill I used thyme and I added some lemon juice and red wine vinegar.

This salad is filling enough to not need anything on the side like bread and you could swap the beans for any variety of your choice or even some lentils.

Serves 2

Vegan, Gluten and Wheat Free, Contains Nuts!

1 Gem Lettuce
Large Handful Watercress
1/4 Cucumber
1 Apple
Handful Butterbeans
3-4 Florets of Broccoli cut into smaller pieces

Dressing:
4-6 Walnuts, Chopped
2 tblspn Walnut Oil (or Olive Oil)
3-4 Springs of fresh Thyme
1 tspn Red Wine Vinegar
1/2 Lemon – Juice
Salt and Pepper

Stirfry the Broccoli in a non stick pan until starting to brown and wilt, then wash and prepare all of the main salad ingredients and assemble onto two plates. I like to layer mine rather than mix in a bowl so I started by filling the plates with lettuce and watercress, then scattered around the apple, cucumber and broccoli. Then I sprinkled on the beans making sure all the individual ingredients are equally spread around.

To make the dressing simply mix everything together in a bowl then pour over the salads.

DSC_2110

10 thoughts on “Apple, Broccoli and Butterbean Salad with a Walnut Dressing

I love hearing what you all have to say!

