Lunch / Main Course / Musings & Contemplations

How to create the perfect veggie bowl! My new favourite dinner!

image

Field Mushrooms and Chickpeas bulk up the veg

After joining Instagram a while ago I’ve been hooked on eating “veggie bowls” for dinner. Basically, I love it because it is a fantastic way of having a variety of foods and flavours all packed into one bowl. It’s a very economical way of eating, it ensures you have your 5 a day and it can be as exciting or as plain as you fancy!

I know, I know, it’s less than a week until Christmas and I’m posting about salads and not Christmas treats! I find it hard in a household of two to even think about buying too much christmas food, especially when I am vegetarian and Scott eats meat. No point buying a whole turkey etc!! This year we are together on Christmas day and then with family either side so I decided to make us a normal dinner on the big day but add in a few extras like a cheese board and boxes of choccies which we can then take around to his family’s house to share the next day.

image

Mix raw foods in with the cooked to vary the bowl

For my christmas I try to keep a normal routine right up to christmas eve because I have time off work in between Christmas and New Year and that is when I eat treats and drink far too much champagne :) so this week think of me as that angel on your christmas-jumper clad shoulder keeping the balance of healthy eating over this festive period! Eat a big veggie bowl and then have a mince pie :)

I found that by buying items like broccoli, cabbage, sprouts, carrots, kale, chickpeas, mushrooms and feta I could easily mix and match throughout the week. One day I roasted the carrots, another day I grated them raw etc. One day I had the mushrooms whole and another day I sliced them up and sautéed them with the cabbage. It’s easy to vary your dinner whilst still using the same ingredients!

image

Dressings can spruce it up and add interest

Also because your having a bit of everything in the bowl, the ingredients stretch much further! A can of chickpeas costs around 70p and by eating this way they can last atleast 4 days :)

So how to plan a weeks worth of veggie bowls -

  • You can either do what I did and buy a bulk of veg at the beginning of the week and cook it in different ways each night. This way you can vary it depending on your mood!
  • You could cook lots of veg etc at the beginning of the week and then everything is just ready to put in a bowl for a super quick dinner.
  • Choose your vegetables based on what you don’t mind eating a few times that week, fill the fridge with your favourites then your more likely to want to eat it each night. My favourite vegetable is definitely broccoli so I knew I could happily make that a main feature everyday!
image

Sneak in some pasta and falafel to make it a more comforting bowl

  • Choose your protein. Quinoa, eggs, tofu, beans, lentils, falafel etc. This is another variation which could be varied throughout the week. Tofu can be scrambled, baked, marinated and stir fried or coated in delicious spinach and polenta crumb!
  • Add some extras like baked pumpkin, pickled onions, raisins or seeds, some cheeky pasta or a bit of humus just to spice it up a bit. Keep it interesting!
  • If you haven’t cooked everything in garlic, seasoning and herbs like I do then definitely add a dressing! My favourite is a caper and balsamic dressing :) It goes with everything!
  • Keep it simple! This is my motto for everything but it is worth sticking too! If you’re going to be stir frying your green beans then might as well stir fry all the other veg. If your going to be roasting some pumpkin then why not throw in your sprouts, carrots and beetroot! Don’t have hundreds of pans on the go, this is not the veggie bowl way!!
  • The only exception to the above point is if you are cooking lots of things at the beginning of the week then you could do all different techniques to make each day a bit more interesting.

image
What would go in your perfect veggie bowl?? Do you have any tips for cooking christmas dinner for two?

9 thoughts on “How to create the perfect veggie bowl! My new favourite dinner!

  1. I don’t know what it is about bowls but I love them so much too! My general guideline is a grain, at least two veggies (usually one leafy green which I mix into the grain, and then another firmer one like broccoli or brussels sprouts), and a protein (usually beans, but sometimes tofu or tempeh if I have it).

    I’ve never cooked a Christmas dinner for two, but your question has gotten me thinking about what I would do (because my husband eats meat too). I would probably make a vegan soup and maybe a salad to start. Then for the entree some sides we could both have (like roasted potatoes and veg), and that way the only thing that would be different would be the “centerpiece” of each of your plates. Dessert options are endless obviously :)

    • I think I am going to do a big tray of roasted potatoes, parnips and carrots and then some greens, veggie stuffing and an onion gravy so we can both share all of that. Then yes probably a small bit of chicken for scott and something veggie for me :) its the quantities I struggle with, even cooking a small amount of each thing all adds up to a huge amount of food… but then again… bubble and squeak the next day will sort that out! :)

  2. Last year we decided that we wanted to do an “elegant sufficiency” for Christmas. We were tired of feeling like we had to create some kind of gustatory event and live off the leftovers for the rest of the month and we were also tired of putting on weight from those leftovers! Last year we created a feast with just enough. We planned it, we produced it, we ate it and at the end we had only created a tiny bit of waste and that went into the compost bin. It was the best Christmas EVER! This year Steve is following suite with last years effort. Sliced meats (he isn’t vegan) and good quality bread and whatever he feels like salad wise and high quality ice cream and homemade chocolate trifle for one for dessert. I am instigating a new Christmas (vegan) tradition…”Christmas Luxury Nacho’s” OLE! Gotta say, I am looking forwards to Christmas lunch MUCH more than I usually do… coupled with a glass or two of the bubbly stuff interspersed with feeding bbq sausages to the dogs this Christmas is shaping up to be sustainable, delicious and “just enough” :). Have a gorgeous Christmas whatever you are doing and here’s to the blended couple Christmas lunch of elegant sufficiency! :)

  3. Pingback: You say Houmous, I say Hummus | veghotpot

I love hearing what you all have to say!

