Curry / Gluten Free / Lunch / Soup / Vegan

Curried Corn Chowder

DSC_3304

Curried Corn Chowder

I love any variety of corn chowder (non dairy of course) but this is definitely my new favourite! I’ve always seen corn chowder as a bit of a summer soup to be eaten on a light evening with a nice piece of crusty bread and maybe a large glass of crisp wine! This is probably because of the summer holiday I spent when I was younger and every day me and my friend would make corn chowder and sit in the sun eating it!

Even though obviously you can eat this all year round, I wanted to make it even more comforting and perfect for a cold rainy evening so I decided to make a curried version. This can be as spicy or as mild as you like depending on the amount of curry powder you like. I have done it quite mild!

DSC_3313

Whenever I make soup, even when following a recipe, I always do a sweep of the fridge to see what soupy ingredients might need using up. You know, things like carrots, potatoes, cabbage, spinach, celery, mushrooms …. ok so basically all non salad vegetables!!

This time I found some savoy cabbage, a vegetable which actually matches strong spices very nicely so I couldn’t resist adding some in! Especially because I forgot the potato ;) Another change from the usual is that instead of using all or mostly milk to the soup I actually kept it quite light by using vegetable stock and then a splash of milk at the end. This not only made it lighter but it matched the curry flavours nicely, letting the spice shine through without being too creamy!

Serves 4
Vegan, Gluten Free

 1 Onion
1 Stick Celery
1 Leek
2 Garlic Cloves
1 thumb sized piece of Ginger
1 tspn Curry Powder (vary to your taste)
130g Sweetcorn
Large Handful Cabbage
800ml Vegetable Stock (GF variety)
200ml Almond or unsweetened non dairy Milk
Salt and Pepper
Olive Oil

Best thing with soup is to prepare your vegetables in advance so everything is ready to just chuck in the pan. Peel your onion and finely dice it (this is not a blended soup so keep everything nice and small), slice the celery and leek, peel and crush the garlic, peel and grate the ginger and slice the cabbage. Give everything a good wash and put to one side making sure you keep the cabbage separate as it will go in later on.

In your saucepan add a splash of olive oil or a spray or oil and add the onion, celery, leek, garlic and ginger and cook down on a medium to low heat for approx 10 minutes. Once wilted add the curry powder and some salt and pepper and give it a good stir for a minute or two.

Then add in the sweetcorn, cabbage and vegetable stock, put a lid on the pan and simmer for 10-15 minutes. Take the lid off and add the milk and stir then taste to check the seasoning.

Serve hot with some more black pepper on top. This soup freezes fine and will keep in the fridge for a couple of days!

5 thoughts on “Curried Corn Chowder

  1. I adore soups. Stevie-boy the wonder husband is an excellent cook when it comes to soup. So much so, that I call him my own personal Soup Dragon :). I will get him to make this ASAP as he always makes soup taste fantastic. Cheers for the share :)

I love hearing what you all have to say!

