Main Course / Sharing Platters / Vegan / Wraps/ Rolls and Tacos

Butternut Squash Fajitas

fajitas

Tortilla wraps packed full of delicious goodness!

Today I am re posting one of my most popular recipes, Butternut Squash Fajitas! I noticed that I was getting a large amount of google hits from people searching for this recipe every day, however it was a recipe I posted within my first month of blogging and I felt I wanted to do the recipe justice by giving it a fresh lease of life with brand new and improved photos!

The recipe stands true to this day, I have re made it plenty of times over the years and never felt the need to change anything! Sometimes We’d add some other veggies that need using up such as courgettes, mushrooms and aubergines though!

fajitas3
Going to keep it short and sweet today! The recipe came about because I had family visiting and, having only been a vegetarian for a month, I needed to cook something that I could easily incorporate meat into for my guests and would be easy to feed myself too. I served this with some griddled chicken and everyone really enjoyed the meal. I hope you enjoy the recipe!

Butternut Squash Fajitas

serves 4-6

1 large Butternut Squash
1 Red Onion
1 Onion
1 Red pepper
1 Yellow pepper
Sprinkle Paprika
Sprinkle Cayenne Pepper
Coriander
2-3 Avacados
1 Red Chilli
1 Lime
Spray Oil
Tomato Salsa (You can make your own but I buy a big jar of it)
Sour Cream – optional
Tortilla Wraps (Enough for 2 or 3 each)

Chop the top and bottom of the butternut squash off and peel off the skin. Chop in half across and then in half length ways and scoop out the seeds. Cut into wedges and put on a baking tray, spray with oil and sprinkle over paprika, cayenne pepper and a little salt. Bake for about 20 mins at 190c.

Slice the peppers and onions into strips and fry on a griddle pan (or just in a frying pan) with some spray oil untill softened. Add some fresh coriander – stalks and leaves- and cook for another few minutes.

Chop up an avacado into chunks or strips and mash slightly (not too much!) add a thinly sliced red chilli and put in a bowl with a splash of lime juice.

Heat the wraps individually in a microwave for 10 seconds each and pile up on a plate on the table with a pot of salsa, the avacado, sour cream if using. Pile up the cooked peppers, onions and butternut squash on the griddle pan or in a serving platter which has been warmed and put on the table. Sprinkle it all with coriander leaves and serve with a few cold Coronas and lime wedges.

I’ve started making this just for the two of us reguarly and I use the rest of the butternut squash to make healthy chips or added to a stew later in the week.

fajitas2

5 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Fajitas

  1. Scrum-diddley-umptious! I am going to have to learn how to make my own tortillas because every time I see recipes like this I want tortillas/enchiladas and all of the other Mexican “a’s” for tea that night but I don’t have any tortillas and am 50km away from my food fetish…time to take El Toro by the horns and give him a bit of a narf7 shake around methinks…wish me luck…I am going in!

  2. Pingback: Cooking for a multi diet family of two | veghotpot

  3. Pingback: 2011- What a year!! My favourite recipes and moments « veghotpot

  4. Hi Debbie, Thanks :) Did you get a good harvest of squash? This is my next step – to grow all my own veg! At the moment I rely on generous friends and families who have veggie patches! It’s quite fun though as I get given random bags of veg and have to decide what to do from them.

  5. I love the seasonal spin you have used on this Mexican meal! I will soon be havesting the squash from the allotment (they seem to be a bit earler this year), and can’t wait to invite some friends round and try this dish.
    Thank you and keep them coming!!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

