Breakfast / Eggs / Gluten Free

Omelettes. The Perfect way to pack Veggies into your day!

image

Broccoli Omelette with Watercress and Tomatoes

I love instagram (for the same reasons as I love pinterest, it’s an easy way to browse beautiful photos of inspiring food) and I have been trying to keep up with my account but when looking back over my profile I realised that the only time I seem to take photos is breakfast at the weekend! My Instagram should be renamed “omelettgram” :)

Omelette is by far my favourite breakfast at the moment (I have to add ‘at the moment’ because I’m sure it will change when I go back to beans being my favourite breakfast….or smoothies, or fruit, or tofu scramble).

image

Kale, Mushroom, Tomato and Veggie Sausage Omelette

What I love about them is the fact that you can add tonnes of vegetables and anything that might need using up in the fridge! It is a low carb and protein packed breakfast which will keep you full for most of the day.

I tend to have a list of favourite vegetables that I include in my omelettes:

Broccoli
Kale
Mushrooms
Tomatoes
Spinach
Watercress
Asparagus
Chard

Then added extras that I include because they either need using up or as a treat are:

Veggie Sausages
Nutritional Yeast
Beans
Feta Cheese

image

Spinach Omelette with Chilli Beans

I have a rather simple and fool proof way of making omelettes which I’m sure isn’t the way a traditional omelette is made (which I believe involves whisking it a bit in the pan as it cooks).

To make an omelette the Veghotpot way (lazy) I crack 2 eggs per person in a bowl and whisk. Then I chop all of the chosen vegetables and put them in a frying pan with a small drizzle of oil and some seasoning and cook until wilted. Once the veg is cooked, pour over your whisked eggs and tilt the pan to run the eggs evenly around the vegetable filling (Kind of like how you make a pancake!).

Leave to cook for a minute then tilt the pan again to keep running the uncooked egg from the middle to the edges. Use a spatula to run around the sides and once the omelette loosens and can be moved around the pan you will know the bottom has cooked. You can then flip the omelette over for a further minute or stick it under a grill to cook the top.

image

Broccoli and Kale Omelette with Tomatoes

 I then sprinkle my omelettes with nutritional yeast to give it a slight cheesy favour and I serve with either some nice watercress, beans or if I feel like it a nice seeded slice of toast!

Oh and I have to admit….after every single one of these photos I did add ketchup to my plate.

What is your favourite breakfast? Do you like to have vegetables for breakfast? What other veggies would you recommend I put in my omelette? :)

4 thoughts on “Omelettes. The Perfect way to pack Veggies into your day!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

