Gluten Free / Snacks / Vegan

An ode to Kale – Kale ‘chips’ and other ways with Kale

kale chips2

Have you heard about the global kale shortage? It seems the media have started a panic however do not rush out and buy your local shops full stock of kale just yet…. I think it is an exaggeration! NBC state that although “Bejo Zaden’s Australian subsidiary has run out of kale seeds, its U.S. unit still has supply” however the Kitchn blog reports a complete sell out. A few have suggested this is an april fools joke being re-run but the truth of the situation is still to be seen :)

Either way Kale is one of those vegetables that has been rising in trend over recent years and with good reason! Kale is low calorie, high fibre, high in vitamin A, C and K, it is packed full of Iron and antioxidants and to top it all off it is actually a good source of calcium!

It takes a little getting used to but it is actually really delicious, my favourite way to cook it is to stirfry it with a bit of seasoning and paprika.

kale chips
The reason why I love stirfried kale is that it starts to get a bit crispy and then it develops this really great rich flavour similar to that of the seaweed you get in the chinese takeaway. So when I heard about kale crisps I knew I’d love them, and I did!

Kale crisps are a staple treat of many vegan bloggers, they are championed by many and loved by all. I had never made them before so I browsed the hundreds of versions online and found this amazing guide by Kitchen Treaty blog and simply had to share it! Her photos are lovely too :)

kale chips3

To make Kale ‘Chips’ – or Crisps as I would call them here in the UK you can either  buy the full leaves and then chop them or you can buy it chopped and pick out the big bits! I rarely see it sold not chopped and in a bag in the UK, Morrison’s is possibly your best bet!

  • Wash and dry your Kale leaves
  • Put them in a large bowl and pour in approx 1 tspn of olive oil per large handful Kale
  • Rub the oil into the leaves without massaging the kale too much
  • Season to taste – I totally over salted mine but I still ate the whole lot. Nom!
  • Place on a baking tray
  • Cook at 200c for 6-8 minutes
  • Scoff it in your face!!

You could add nutritional yeast for a cheesy flavour, paprika for spicy or some black pepper for a kick. If you love kale then definitely try these delicious delicate crisps, or try one of these other kale recipes I am sharing :)

Kale, Butterbean and Pesto Stromboli
This little beauty is a pizza base with a butterbean and pesto puree base topped with cooked kale and then rolled up into a ring before baking. It’s a perfect pizza party piece!

stromboli4
Purple Kale, Radish and Pomegranate Raw Salad

Massaged  purple kale with a zesty dressing, sweet bursts of pomegranate and peppery radish slices. Fresh and pretty :)


Kale Topped Sweet Potato and Cheese Pies

A creamy sweet potato pie filling wrapped in crisp filo pastry and topped with kale. The bottom of the kale stays lovely and soft and the top goes delicious and crispy!

Kale topped pieKale, Lentil and Ginger Soup
This soup is a bit of a cold busting power house but is also delicious in these less cloudy summer months. The lemon freshens the whole dish up and the kale and lentils make it ‘souper’ comforting.

kale soup
There are many may more recipes on my blog using kale but these are my favourites, feel free to browse by typing kale into the search bar at the top! What is your favourite way to use kale? Do you like it? Do you believe the shortage hype?

2 thoughts on “An ode to Kale – Kale ‘chips’ and other ways with Kale

  1. These look wonderful! I’m having a tapas evening tomorrow and found your site while looking for tapas using fennel because I’ve got a glut of them on my allotment… then I found the kale recipes. I have a jungle of kale that I didn’t know what to do with. Now I can’t wait to try these out!

    • Hi, Thank you for commenting and I hope you found some nice ways to use fennel! I am having a tapas party on Saturday funnily enough! What were you planning on making? I make a fennel tortilla which always goes down well (you may have already seen that one!)
      I hope you enjoy whatever you try out and have a great tapas evening :) x

I love hearing what you all have to say!

