Curry / Gluten Free / Rice / Vegan

Cauliflower Pilau ‘Rice’

pilau cauliflower rice

I have been trying to get through lots of “bookmarked” recipes recently and cauliflower rice was one of them! I have nothing against rice but I absolutely love cauliflower so thought this would be a dish I would enjoy.

For those following a low carb diet, or just wanting to squeeze more vegetables in, then this technique with cauliflower is perfect! It is so easy to do and is lovely and filling just like rice.

I decided to do a pilau version because cauliflower goes so well with Indian flavours and spices. I’ve experimented with cauliflower in curries before in my Cauliflower Daal and my Tandoori Roasted Cauliflower Wraps so I knew it would be a winner!

pilau cauliflower rice2

 

I used turmeric to create a warm yellow colour to the rice and I added raisins for a hit of sweetness and cardamom for bursts of fragrance. I had this for dinner with a simple vegetable curry and I felt so healthy afterwards :)

Serves 4 as a side dish

1 Cauliflower
1 Onion
1 tspn Ground Turmeric
1/2 tspn Ground Cumin
1/2 tspn Black Mustard Seeds or Onion Seeds
4 Cardamom Pods
Coconut oil (or oil of choice)
Handful Raisins
Splash of water
Coriander to garnish

Wash your cauliflower thoroughly and then either grate it or blitz it in a food processor until a rice like consistency. I grated mine and it was fairly chunky but thats fine by me!

Peel and chop your onion and add to a pan with a splash of oil and the spices and cook for 3-4 minutes. This toasts the spices making their flavour richer.

Then add the cauliflower, a splash of water and the raisins, stir well to spread around that turmeric and cook for a further 8 minutes or until the cauliflower is cooked.

Serve hot along side your favourite curry or with some tikka tofu. Garnish with coriander

 

pilau cauliflower rice3

You could add flaked almonds, cinnamon bark, bay leaves, saffron or sliced red chilli to make your own variation!

Have you made cauliflower rice before? What variations do you like?

 

5 thoughts on “Cauliflower Pilau ‘Rice’

  1. I have never gone down the cauliflower ‘rice’ road yet but after seeing this I might give it a go. I have a cauliflower, I have an urge and if I put the two together I will have this faux rice that promises to be delish. Cheers for the share :)

I love hearing what you all have to say!

