Soup / Vegan

Soup week begins with Spiced Sweet Potato Soup

I felt like I’d over indulged a little both food and money wise so this week me and my partner have had soup week!! Each recipe I’ve made is enough to feed 4 so I’ve also now got soup in the freezer for next week.
We have a dedicated soup week a few times a year (mainly when we feel the need to be super healthy) and it can be a struggle if all I’ve bothered making is cabbage soup…so this week I’ve experimented and made a “Spiced sweet potato soup”, a “Roasted tomato and lentil soup” and also what I am calling a “Green Minestrone soup”. So far so good and the soups have all been very filling!!
I read about some research once where they gave some people a chicken and vegetable soup and others chicken and vegetables on a plate with a large glass of water and the people who ate the soup were fuller for longer! It proved that including water within your food, like in a soup, is better than drinking water with your meal. I’m not sure why but I do know that we both feel great after a few nights eating soup!

I will post all the recipes over the next few days but to begin with here is my Spiced Sweet Potato soup!

Serves 4

1 medium sized Sweet Potato
1 Carrot
1 Onion
1/2 Leek
800ml Vegetable Stock
1/4 teaspoon Cumin Seeds
1/4 teaspoon Garlic Granules
1/2 teaspoon Paprika
Black Pepper

Peel and then chop the sweet potato into small chunks, thinly slice the leek and carrot and chop the onion. Fry in a pan with a small amount of olive oil or spray oil for 5 minutes, then add the cumin, garlic and paprika and fry for a further 1 minute. Add the vegetable stock (this may seem like a lot of stock but when blended it will make a perfect consistency as the potato thickens the soup so much). Simmer for around 15-20 minutes untill all your vegetables are soft. Using a hand held blender, blend the soup untill silky smooth and sprinkle black pepper on the top.

This is delicious served with a couple of slices of Irish Soda bread or even a mini naan bread!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

