Breakfast / Eggs

The best meal of the day! Poached Egg served on Sweet Tomatoes

Unfortunately due to a stomach bug I haven’t been able to cook again today! I’ve really missed it this week and feel like this weekend may become a cook-a-thon just to satisfy myself…and my recipe list!

One thing worse than not being able to cook much this week is definitely not being able to eat anything today! My favourite meal of the day is definitely breakfast…I often eat it for every meal of the day! I’m sure I’m not the only person who loves a big portion of beans on toast for lunch, an omelette for dinner or a big mug of cereal as a snack (having it in a mug makes it more of a treat I don’t know why!).

So today I was gutted to sleep through breakfast and not feel up to eating anything! Anyway it reminded me that I made the most delicious breakfast at the weekend which was so simple but definitely satisfied every criteria I have for breakfast! Here is my recipe for sweet tomatoes on toast with an egg on top:

Serves 1:

1 Egg
1 Slice of good quality wholemeal bread
Extra light Philadelphia
2 or 3 Tomatoes depending on their size (I used 3 smallish ones)
Red Wine Vinegar (Balsamic would work too)
Salt and Black Pepper

Cut the tomatoes in half and place on a grill pan, cut side up. Sprinkle with a bit of salt and put a drop or two of the vinegar on each half. Grill them for about 10 minutes untill soft.
Toast your bread then spread thickly with the Philadelphia and top with the tomatoes, the egg and some black pepper.

So simple and a worthy breakfast/ brunch for a lazy weekend morning. The tomatoes will be sweet and contrast well with the soft cheese!

3 thoughts on “The best meal of the day! Poached Egg served on Sweet Tomatoes

  1. Thankyou both 🙂 I’m finally feeling better! Frugal feeding – I hope you enjoyed your toast! I do love bread so I think after a week of having none I’d be enjoying a nice thick slice of toast too! x

  2. I hope you feel better soon! I hate feeling ill. That toast looks amazing though, perfect for breakfast or dinner, I’ve not had bread for over a week. We finally bought a loaf today, I can’t wait to have marmite and dairylea on toast 😛

I love hearing what you all have to say!

