Breakfast / Eggs

On the topic of breakfast….Veggie Breakfast Tortilla

On Sunday morning I woke up and was about to put my pillow over my head and go back to sleep when I realised I felt a lot better! I jumped out of bed  and knew exactly what I was going to cook for my breakfast (although to be honest it was about 10.30am so this was actually more of a brunch) – All day breakfast Tortilla! It’s a real comfort food dish but it’s really healthy and it was exactly what I needed after 3 days of nibbling on dry toast and sipping flat lemonade!

I love Spanish tortillas in general because they are so versatile. You can add a plain potato, onion and cheese tortilla to a selection of tapas, have a red pepper and spinach tortilla for a light lunch or put any veggies you have left over in the fridge to make a packed full anything goes tortilla! This recipe I did is delicious because it has all my favourite aspects of a full english breakfast but just in a different form. I didn’t add cheese to the top of this tortilla as many tortilla recipes do for two reasons – 1. I don’t have cheese on my all day breakfast and 2. It would defeat the point of my mission to be creating vegetarian lactose intolerant friendly recipes!

Now this recipe would happily be 3 or 4 servings for me, I’d suggest if you are planning to feed more with it then add another sausage so no one goes short!

5 Eggs
4 Quorn sausages
200g Mushrooms
200g Tomatoes
1 Small Onion
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
Salt and Pepper

Grill your quorn sausages as per the instructions on the pack them chop into bite size pieces and put to one side.
Chop the onion and in a deep frying pan soften it in a little olive oil then stir in the dried basil.
Chop the mushrooms in quarters (I like keeping the mushrooms quite chunky as you really get the flavour from them) and add them to the onions, fry for another 4-5 minutes then chop the tomatoes in quarters and add them to the pan with a pinch of salt and pepper.
Once your vegetables are soft add the sausage pieces and turn the heat down to a low/ medium heat. Using a fork make sure everything is covering the bottom of the pan and levelled off nicely.
Preheat the grill to a medium/ high heat.
Crack 5 eggs into a jug or bowl and beat with a fork, season with some black pepper and then pour evenly over the vegetables/ sausages in the pan. Cook on the hob untill the egg looks like it’s nearly set then finish it off under the grill to brown the top.

Serve with some baked beans and grilled tomatoes or any breakfast items of your choice! It’s also nice as a lunch with some salad.

4 thoughts on “On the topic of breakfast….Veggie Breakfast Tortilla

  1. Pingback: A recipe round up of my Fave Eggy Recipes and Vegan Versions – British Egg Week | veghotpot

  2. Pingback: 2011- What a year!! My favourite recipes and moments « veghotpot

  3. Thank you for this recipe. It inspired me today so when i cooked courgettes from the garden, mushrooms and red onion i then added beaten egg and made your tortilla. It was delicious!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

