Bloggers Awards / Musings & Contemplations

Versatile Blogger Award!

I was thrilled to log in this morning and see that Veghotpot has received a Versatile Blogger Award! A massive thank you to Jennifer who passed this over to me, she writes an amazing blog about local foods/ wines and places to see in New Jersey, it is definitely worth a read –http://downhomesouthjersey.com/.

To accept this award I must:

1. Formally thank the person who gave me the award (please see above!)

2. List 7 things about myself that others might not know about me (this is further down the page)

3. Pass on the award to 5- 15 other bloggers

4. Inform the bloggers I have given them the award.

5. Put the Versatile Blogger Award Picture in the post.

I’ve been writing my blog for a few months now and it started off as a way to re-ignite my love of cooking and also to help me be abit more creative. It has been an easy transition for me to become a vegetarian but I still wanted to cook for my husband so Ive faced the challenge of catering for both of us on a budget. I also focus on low dairy recipes as I am lactose intolerant which has been great as you really have to push your mind outside of the normal “vegetarian alternatives”. I love writing my blog so much and the excitment of thinking up a  new recipe which I can share with friends, family and anyone reading is a great feeling 🙂

Now one of the conditions of accepting the award is that I must post 7 random facts about myself so here you go – a little insight into me

1. I used to go vegetarian every few years for about a week growing up but I never kept it up, I didn’t really understand it back then!
2. My favourite evening snack is a mug of cereal with soya milk – it has to be in a mug to be a snack otherwise its just an extra meal.
3. I have a degree in lingerie design and can design, pattern cut and make bras, corsets, knickers, night wear etc etc. I don’t really do it any more though.
4. We get through a bottle of ketchup every couple of weeks- and we don’t have kids so there’s no excuses!
5. When I was at uni and had no money I decided to bake presents for christmas (but I can’t bake!) so I came up with a brand/ packaging called “Pants at baking” where all the labels were shaped like pants and the food was terrible! It made everyone laugh though and I have since been practising my baking alot more.
6. I watch cooking programmes with a note pad and pen and scribble away with any ideas or tips, I also have a stack of cookbooks next to my bed!
7. I love Rock music/ Heavy Metal and love head banging in my kitchen whilst im cooking! I do close the curtains though!!

Now I’m not sure if I’m meant to wait before nominating the blogs I love for this award but it was such an easy choice for me as I have spent such a long time reading many many other blogs online that I’m going to let them know now!

For those who I have nominated please see the instructions above –

1. http://theclassyscavenger.wordpress.com/– This concept is becoming more and more popular and I think it’s a great idea to use produce which supermarkets and restaurants have thrown out! When I worked at Marks and Spencers we were made to pour bleach on all food in the bins so no one could steal it – steal rubbish?!?!? ridiculous! The recipes they come up with look great and they’ve definitely educated me and entertained me with their scavenging antics!

2. http://rachael-jane.blogspot.com/– I love this blog, Rachy opens her heart and pours it all out into a witty and entertaining blog. You can’t help liking her and I am so inspired by the whole retro look!! This blog makes me laugh out loud in public!

3. http://thefoodieat.org/– So so inspired by Rachel! Her recipes and photos make your mouth water and I love seeing what she gets up to in the professional kitchen too! Brilliant blog.

4. http://atablespoonofliz.wordpress.com/– Liz’s blog makes me laugh, she mixes food ideas with a great sense of humour and it makes for a great read! We’re also both lactose intolerant vegetarians so we have that in common 🙂

5. http://dkscooks.wordpress.com/– “so hungry I could blog” – This is a brilliant Foodies blog packed full of photos and brilliant ideas/ recipes. My favourite part of this blog is the “our guides” page where each month they post a few ideas under a theme! I love the look of the “A dip and a Sip” recipes I will be trying those.

6. http://katcameronillustration.wordpress.com/– As soon as you click on this blog your hit with artwork and colour and I love it! Kat lives in Barcelona and has posted about the life there including some tips on where to eat and what to eat! A really beautiful blog about a culture Id like to know more about.

7. http://brunchforeverymeal.com/– “Aspiring Comedic Actor, Writer, Mover, Shaker” – I read that tagline and I was hooked lol! This blogs not really about brunch or food but it’s a very well written, funny and current blog. Dara is really funny and clever with the way she writes.

So there you go 🙂 what a good feeling! xx

4 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award!

  1. Aww, Thank you so much for nominating me! I’m glad you find my blog posts funny, I’m always afraid people don’t get my sense of humor, lol. And I love the name pants at baking. It’s so original and random!

    • Your welcome 🙂 I know what you mean its hard to know how your going to come across online but I think your blogs great! Haha thanks my family thought it was amusing! x

I love hearing what you all have to say!

