Musings & Contemplations

The Pay day count down…

The dreaded end of the month again!

Ok so 6 days until pay day and £10 left in the bank… fridge contents include 1 carrot, 1 bag of spinach, 1 small cabbage, 1 leek, 1 potato, celery, 2 green peppers, 10 mushrooms, ½ butternut squash, 4 eggs, ½ load of bread, 6 bottles of beer (husband bought those!), butter, Philadelphia, soya milk and the usual array of condiments.

I think that’s the most I’ve had in my fridge at the end of the month so I’m feeling quite confident I can make some good meals without having to spend much more money! In fact this doesn’t really reflect a true end of month panic but I will still share my end of the month food week with you.

In the freezer I have two Pieminister pies (bought at borough Market and tucked away for when I’m feeling I deserve it, and for the record that’s not in the near future), stuffed peppers,  grated wedding cheese, 2 bags of peas (one was tucked away and I didn’t see it before buying a new one grrr), lemon and cranberry cookies and half a tub of ice cream…..yum!

I should also point out that I have cupboards crammed with lentils, pasta, flour, beans ETC.

So meals I can make are (successful recipes to come soon):

• Open mushroom lasagne (so easy just layer up a mushroom sauce with cooked lasagne sheets)

• Cabbage leaves stuffed with butternut squash and served with spicy potato wedges: I tested this last week hence the leftover vegetables and it was delicious.

• Calzone filled with a bit of everything probably! (and some wedding cheese from the freezer), served with peas!

• Spinach pancakes with a Philadelphia filling

• Fried egg sandwich – aye why not!

Only things I’ll need to buy are………wine selection to accompany 🙂

What do you have left in your fridge to use up before payday? x

 

4 thoughts on “The Pay day count down…

  1. Goat cheese, arugula (that must be eaten today), eggs, and homebrew. I’m thinking omelet with wilted arugula on the side. And of course, homebrew goes great with everything!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

