Meat Free Monday

Mums Speedy Nachos: Meat Free Monday

My mum came to stay this weekend and offered to cook one of my favourite childhood favourites – Speedy Nachos! Looking back at the recipe I never even registered that it was vegetarian! It was just delicious and for this weekend it was the perfect choice for a friday night in watching TV and catching up on gossip since the last time we’d seen each other!

I’m going to put this forward for a meat free monday recipe because it is so easy to put together, it is brilliant for this time of year and also you do not miss the meat at all! It’s very filling and depending on how much cheese you use can be a bit of a treat!

Speedy Nachos (my mums recipe): Serves 4- 6

1 large Onion
2 cans Kidney beans in chilli sauce
2 Jars of Hot Salsa
Red Jalapenos (the sliced kind in a jar is perfect)
250g Cheddar Cheese
1 large bag cheesy or original Doritos (or any tortilla chips)
Olive Oil

Preheat the oven to 150c.

In a large, deep frying pan soften the diced onion in a little olive oil. Once cooked add the kidney beans with the chilli sauce with both jars of salsa and stir through untill hot. Cook it on the top for about 10- 15 mins so it thickens slightly.

Pour the beany mixture into a big lasagna dish/ ceramic baking tray and layer the jalapenos on the top evenly. Grate 1/4 of the cheese over the mix then put a layer of doritos on top, then grate the rest of the cheese over the Doritos.

Put in the oven for 15 minutes untill the cheese has melted and the top has began to brown.

Serve with a simple iceburg lettuce salad and a mexican beer! It really is such a delicious dinner, thanks mum! x

4 thoughts on “Mums Speedy Nachos: Meat Free Monday

  1. These look amazing… what an awesome Idea to use kidney beans.. I haven’t had nachos in ages, but I love them, so I don’t know why I don’t eat them more often!

    • Aw thanks I’ll have to let my mum know! This was one of my favourite meals as a kid – it feels naughty having tortilla chips as part of dinner but it tastes so good! x

I love hearing what you all have to say!

