Burgers / Meat Free Monday

Walnut Beany Burger with Caramelised Apples: Meat Free Monday

When my mum last came back from France to see us she kindly bought me a bag of walnuts from the walnut tree in her garden and I’ve been having loads of fun cooking with them! I’ve not really cooked with nuts before so I started off by thinking about what flavours are usually combined with walnuts – i.e pears, apples, blue cheese, chicory. Very wintery!

I then thought about how I would want to eat them (I’m not really a winter salad type or person) so I decided to add them with some grated carrot and other vegetables and create a new beany burger! (I also soon discovered that I wasn’t very good at getting the walnut out whole so a recipe where they are chopped up would be perfect!) I love beany burgers because you can be adventurous with them, add any kind of chopped vegetable or paste or herbs etc and just have some fun! They’re also very easy to make and full of goodness! Theres also much less fat and much more flavour than a beef burger!!

So here is my recipe: It makes enough mixture for 2 burgers

40g Walnuts – Chopped or crushed
35g Breadcrumbs
1/2 can Borlotti beans (115g) If using dried then you need to soak and cook them according to the instructions on the packet!
3 Spring Onions – finely sliced
30g Carrot – grated
1 Egg
1/2 teaspoon Dried Thyme
Salt and Pepper
Olive Oil or spray Oil

120g Apple (2 small apples)
1 teaspoon Brown Sugar
2 tablespoons Water

In a large mixing bowl add the borlotti beans and mash them untill they are crushed, dont mash them into a smooth paste you just want them to be broken up. Add the breadcrumbs, grated carrot, Spring onion, walnuts and thyme and mix together. Then crack the egg into the bowl to bind the mixture together, mix untill everything is combined. Season with a little salt and pepper.

Mould the mixture into two burgers and put on a plate in the fridge for at least 20 minutes. This will help them firm up and hold their burger shape when frying.

Meanwhile peel and core the apples and slice into fairly thick slices (I sliced each apple into 8 pieces). Place the apple slices into a small saucepan and add the sugar and water. Stir occasionally and cook the apples untill they are soft and the sugar-water has started to become sticky. Once done use a fork to mash the apples slightly and then put to one side.

Heat up a little oil in a frying pan and once hot add your burgers. Fry them for a few minutes on each side untill they have browned and are hot the whole way through. Toast a burger bun of your choice (I used a very flat one as the filling is quite thick) and place your burger on the bottom half of the bun, top with the apples and then I also added a little bit of cream cheese and salad in the bun.
This is a really filling burger so a salad or some home-made wedges will go perfectly with this to make a complete meal.

10 thoughts on “Walnut Beany Burger with Caramelised Apples: Meat Free Monday

  1. Pingback: Beetroot burgers with chive tzatziki « reluctantlymeatfree

  2. Pingback: 2011- What a year!! My favourite recipes and moments « veghotpot

  3. These burgers sound so good, they sound as if they will be satisfying. I too have difficulty making home-made burgers stick together but I shall have a go – there’s a jar of walnuts in the cupboard waiting to go!

    • They are quite filling! I think mashing the beans well also helps to bind the mixture and when shaping it into a burger work it with your hands to keep it together 🙂 I hope you enjoy! X

  4. Thanks for dropping by my blog….especially as it led me back to yours, and this delicious-looking recipe. I LOVE walnuts, and will be giving this a go FOR SURE in the very near future. Thanks for the inspiration – looks delicious! x

  5. Yum, these look so good! I love coming up with new veggie/bean burgers as well, but my main problem is getting them to stick together!

    • Thanks 🙂 I usually find an egg and some breadcrumbs does the trick. Also that 20 minutes letting them firm up in the fridge does make a difference! I agree though it’s so fun trying new flavour combinations etc! x

I love hearing what you all have to say!

