Puddings

Amaretto & Baileys flavoured truffles: Home made food gifts!

This is my first try at making truffles and they were surprisingly easy and very delicious! I used this recipe: BBC Good Food Truffles to get the ratio of chocolate to cream but I made some changes to create flavours I love! These will be a great gift and also I plan to take them to a dinner party to share with everyone during after dinner drinks :).

The best bit also is that you can change the flavours or toppings to whatever you fancy!

Heres my amended recipe:

200g Dark chocolate (70% Cocoa)
200g Milk Chocolate
150ml Reduced fat double cream (It does exist!! but use normal if you like)
4 teaspoon Amaretto
4 teaspoon Baileys
a few good quality Biscotti Biscuits
Cocoa Powder for dusting

Chop the chocolate quite roughly and put it into a bowl with the cream and melt either in the microwave (20-30 seconds at a time and stirring each time) or place the bowl over a pan of shallow hot water and stir untill melted.

Once melted split the mixture into two separate bowls and stir the Ameretto into one of the bowls and Baileys into the other bowl of chocolate. Put in the fridge and chill for 2-3 hours.

Once firm use a melon baller or I used a spoon and then rolled them into a ball in my hands and then roll the Baileys truffles in the cocoa powder and the Ameretto truffles in the crushed biscotti biscuits then put back in the fridge to firm up again.

You can freeze them untill you need them or keep the in the fridge for a few days untill needed!

I’m not sure I made mine perfectly round truffles but wow they taste delicious!! I also had the idea to roll them in flavoured hot chocolate powder to create orange or mint truffles!

This isn’t the usual recipe you will find on here and I apologise to my lactose intolerant friends as this isn’t very friendly for us (I ate three last night and my tummy had a little moan) but it is Christmas and I couldn’t resist sharing this little gem of a recipe for those of you wanting to find a quick and easy food gift for your friends and family.

2 thoughts on “Amaretto & Baileys flavoured truffles: Home made food gifts!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

