Musings & Contemplations

2011- What a year!! My favourite recipes and moments

Firstly I hope every one had a fantastic Christmas and have a Happy New Year! I’ve been in France and am now visiting family in the UK for some New Years Eve celebrations 🙂

It’s been a big year for me as I moved house, got married, I had a new baby brother born in September and I started Veghotpot. It’s been exciting, fulfilling and really one of the best years of my life. I have learnt so much and grown so much as a person and it’s been lovely to kind of share that through my cooking on this blog.

I wanted to share my favourite recipes since starting this blog  (click the link to see the full recipe)

1. Spaghetti Bolognese – This was my first ever recipe posted on Veghotpot and it kind of summed up the type of cook I was then! I love simple, rustic food and this was a meal I cooked all the time. It really is a fail safe recipe!

2. Open Mushroom Lasagna – This was a bit of a happy accident after making a mushroom sauce a few times I realised it would be best presented like this!

3. Minestrone Verde Soup – I was feeling creative and decided to reinvent the wheel a little bit by making my favourite soup using green vegetables! I’ve since discovered that this idea is quite common but oh well I still love this recipe 🙂

4. Butternut Squash Fajitas – I’ve had quite a bit of feedback from people who have since made this recipe and I think this was when I really started building confidence in my cooking ability. It’s a great recipe for a big family meal when everyone can dig in and share the food.

5. Spicy Sweet Potatoes in an egg net – I got back from holiday and literally had 3 items in my fridge so I got creative and came up with this recipe. I had seen them make egg nets on Masterchef Australia so I gave it a go. This is a recipe which could be adapted easily with a filling of your choice.

6. Faux Fish Cake – Before I turned vegetarian I used to love fish cakes and so I decided to come up with a recipe which could capture the flavours of a fishcake but without the fish! This “fishcake” is built up with parsley, egg, capers and lemon to create a fresh flavour. It’s now one of my favourite weekend meals 🙂

7. Mushroom and Sage Mini Quiches – This is my most clicked on recipe and I’ve noticed that a lot of people have searched for “mini filo quiche” and found my recipe! I think for the party season a healthy version of the mini quiche is great. They are easy to make and they look impressive! I really enjoyed making batches of these hehe.

8. Apple, Blackberry and Ginger crumble – I think it’s obvious I don’t have much of a sweet tooth as there are not too many puddings on here but this was my first attempt at a simple crumble with a twist. I think my favourite part of making this was picking the blackberries and apples from the garden!

9. Breakfast Tortilla – Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day and at the weekend I love spending a bit of time making myself something special! This recipe is all my favourite breakfast items put together in a tortilla! You can also have it cold for lunch with a salad.

10. Walnut Beany Burger – Even though this was a recent post I had to add it into my favourites because it’s one of the yummiest things I’ve made in the last couple of months, and the walnuts came from a tree in my mum’s Garden so I like that 🙂

I’m very much looking forward to everything 2012 brings – and I might buy a new tablecloth haha!

4 thoughts on “2011- What a year!! My favourite recipes and moments

I love hearing what you all have to say!

