Curry / Gluten Free / Lentils / Main Course / Meat Free Monday / Vegan

Roasted Cauliflower and Garlic Dhal: Meat Free Monday

I really like making Lentil Dhal’s as they are quite simple and really healthy but filling! You can use all different kinds of lentils but I always use red lentils as they are so easy to find and not expensive. I came up with this idea after seeing the Romanesco Cauliflower in France and thinking that I don’t cook with Cauliflower enough, I went through different ideas in my mind and settled on the fact that curry and cauliflower go hand in hand!

I had used Cauliflower in my Open Mushroom Lasagna to create an alternative to a white sauce so I knew that blending it would work! In this recipe I roasted it with some whole cloves of garlic first then blended it to really bring out the flavours.

The hubby liked this one too and I served it with some mini naan breads and green veggies!

Serves 4 (Freezable!)

330g Cauliflower (cut into florets)
8 Garlic Cloves
170g Red Lentils
1 Green Chilli
2 Onions
1 tablespoon Tomato Puree
Bunch Coriander
Juice of 1/2 Lemon
800ml water
1/2 teaspoon Cumin Seeds
1/2 teaspoon Mustard Seeds
1/2 teaspoon Turmeric
1/2 teaspoon Ground Ginger
Vegetable Oil for Roasting

Blanch the Cauliflower florets in boiling water for 1 minute then drain it really well. Drizzle some oil in a baking tray and heat it up in the oven, remove and then add the cauliflower and unpeeled garlic cloves and roast for about 10 minutes at 190c.

In a saucepan heat a little more oil and fry the onion, green chilli and spices untill softened, then add the tomato puree and squeeze the roasted garlics out of their skin into the pan.

Puree the cauliflower with a splash of water untill smooth (keep a few slices of cauliflower to one side for garnish). Add the puree to the saucepan with the lentils. Stir for a minute to combine the ingredients well then add 800ml water and some seasoning.

Bring to the boil then simmer for 20 minutes with a lid on.

Chop the coriander up and add it to the pan then cook for a further 10 minutes without the lid on.

Serve hot with the slices of cauliflower as a garnish and some naan bread!

NB: since posting this I decided to link it up to Wellness Weekend ( a great site I just stumbled across) which promotes recipes using whole, natural, good and healthy ingredients! So many good recipes on there so please check it out πŸ™‚

20 thoughts on “Roasted Cauliflower and Garlic Dhal: Meat Free Monday

  1. Pingback: Cauliflower Pilau Rice | veghotpot

  2. Pingback: National Curry Week 8th – 14th October: An easy way to celebrate vegan foods! « veghotpot

  3. Thanks for your comment on my banana flower post, Becky! you’re my first comment πŸ™‚ how awesome is it that the first recipe post on your page has an Indian dal, while i’m on the other side of the world in Mumbai posting about Western/asian hybrid recipes? While I’m not vegetarian, my boyfriend is, and so I’m always on the lookout for a good veggie recipe. I look forward to following yours! Best of luck!

    • Yay happy to be the first person to comment on your blog πŸ™‚ I’m sure there will be many more! The fact you used banana flower caught my eye, I’m not sure it’s an ingredient we’d find over here easily but it sounds great. Hope I help you to find some recipes for your boyfriend πŸ™‚ xx

I love hearing what you all have to say!

