Gluten Free / Lentils / Lunch / Meat Free Monday / Salads / Wraps/ Rolls and Tacos

Chickpea, Lentil and Feta Taco Salad: Meat Free Monday

The thing I love about tacos is that you can fill them with pretty much anything! They can be warm and filled with hot tomatoes, melted cheese and kidney beans or they can be a deliciously light salad with fresh herbs and avocados. This time, I’ve gone for the latter!

I’ve been eating these quite a bit recently as I’ve wanted to have a dinner which is light yet will fill me up for the evening (perfect for fighting off those unnecessary evening snacks!) Staying true to the Mexican feel of a taco I have used ingredients such as fresh chilli, coriander and avacados to bring it together.

You can use Taco shells or (as I have here) you can use the taco trays which are also sold in most supermarkets! I find the trays easier to eat and also they make for a nicer portion size!

Serves 4

160g Cooked Chickpeas
100g Green Lentils (Cooked as per instructions on the packet and then drained under cold water)
100g Feta Cheese
1 Red Onion
1 Green Pepper
1 Red Chilli (adjust to your own personal taste)
Bunch Coriander
Juice of 1 Lemon
Drizzle of good Olive Oil
2-3 taco trays/ shells per person

To serve with:
1 Avacado
2 Tomatoes

Finely chop the red onion and green pepper. De-seed and finely slice the chilli. Roughly chop the coriander.

In a large bowl mix together the chickpeas, lentils, onion, pepper, chilli and coriander then crumble in the feta cheese. Gently mix it all together and then drizzle over a good glug of the best quality olive oil you have and squeeze the lemon juice in. Give it one final stir then put on the table ready for everyone to dig in!

Heat the taco trays/ shells in the oven for 2-3 minute (or as per instructions on the packet) and then serve with a platter of sliced tomatoes, sliced avacado and an extra pile of coriander leaves.

Everyone can build their own tacos and then try and eat them without spilling it all! 🙂

10 thoughts on “Chickpea, Lentil and Feta Taco Salad: Meat Free Monday

  1. Pingback: Cooking for a multi diet family of two | veghotpot

  2. This looks so good, and those taco trays look so cute! I’ve never seen them around before, I’ll have to look at the grocery store next time I go!

  3. Its so moreish I had to stop myself eating the whole bowl by myself when photographing it lol. the taco trays are really handy! but of course you can pile the salad into a shell too 🙂 x

I love hearing what you all have to say!

