Dinner Party menus / Musings & Contemplations

My Second Vegetarian Dinner Party!

I really enjoyed having family over for dinner in January (see that post here) and being able to cook for everyone felt very good so I thought I’d do it again! I’ve always wanted to throw dinner parties but this year is the first time I’ve really been able too because we finally have a dining room table! I’ve made pizzas and tapas for parties and gatherings before and even in January (my first veggie dinner party) I stuck to my trusted favourite lasagna and I bought in a pudding.

This time I wanted to create a real cosy dinner party atmosphere with lots of dishes everyone could share and a variety of flavours! I loosely based the theme of the night on Moroccan foods and matched the food with plenty of wine! I cooked some of my own recipes and some from other places such as Yotam Ottolenghi’s Plenty, Jamie Oliver’s 30 min meals, Hugh’s River Cottage Veg and BBC Good food website!

I served everything in different baking dishes and colourful bowls to make the table look really interesting and rustic! It looked lovely.

Here are a few pictures of the food and my menu (photos taken during the day before everyone arrived) πŸ™‚ Please click on the name of the dish to find the recipe!

Starter:

Crudites including radishes, celery, carrot sticks, cucumber and peppers
Wholegrain and White Pitta Breads (toasted and sliced)
Hummous
Olive Selection
Hugh’s Cambodian Wedding dip (I know it’s not Moroccan but I desperately wanted an occassion to make it and everyone enjoyed it very much!)

Hugh’s Oven Roasted Tomatoes (These were amazing and so much nicer than shop bought sundried tomatoes- these disappeared quite quickly!) This recipe can be found in River Cottage Veg pg 304. they take up to 4 hours to slowly roast so start these early!

I also made Jamie’s Stuffed Peppers which is a recipe from his 30 minute meals cook book in the tapas section. Again these aren’t really Moroccan but they are delicious and so easy to prepare in advance!


Ok and after we’d polished off most of the starters I served the main course which was:

Fruity Vegetable Tagine (My own recipe)- I doubled the quantities and made enough for 6 plus 2 left over portions! (that’ll be a nice meal next week!)


Roasted Vegetable Cous Cous (I roasted red onions, white onions, courgettes and peppers then mixed them into cous cous which I had cooked with vegetable stock. A few herbs and a squeeze of lemon finished off this dish nicely!)


Some Steamed Green Vegetables including Brocolli, Asparagus and a mix of green beans. I like to have something green to offer and it made the table even more colourful πŸ™‚


And the final savoury dish served up with the main course was the amazing Moroccan Carrot Salad from Ottolenghi’s Plenty cookbook page 14! This went down really well but I had made so much of it that I have had it for leftovers for a few days now! It’s delicious.

As you all know I don’t have much of a sweet tooth but I was determined to make the pudding this time so I served Sticky Cinnamon Figs which is a recipe from the BBC Good Food website! This recipe was perfect because it was light enough to enjoy after all the main food, and also it was easy enough to make after quite a few glasses of wine!! I didn’t get a picture of it but please go look at this recipe on the link because it is so pretty πŸ™‚

Ok so I’m feeling good after the dinner party and am definitely happy that vegetarian food could be so interesting and vibrant and delicious! I don’t think meat would enhance this menu although Scott may feel like he’s eaten his 5 a day for a whole week in that one sitting πŸ˜€

Whats your favourite dinner party dish? Do you have a fail safe theme you always cook?

15 thoughts on “My Second Vegetarian Dinner Party!

  1. All these dishes look so good! I love the couscous with the roasted vegetables. I’ve made couscous (cooked in vegetable broth) with artichoke hearts, sundried tomatoes, basil, spinach, feta and red wine vinegar a few times now for dinner parties. And puff pastry tarts are always a safe hit – one with asparagus, gruyere, dijon mustard, sour cream and egg yolks and another one with caramelized onions, brie, gorgonzola, and basil.

    • Hey thanks for commenting πŸ™‚ Oh man those all sound amazing, especially the cous cous with artichoke etc mm! I love cous cous salads theyre so versatile x

  2. That all looks amazing!
    The oven-roasted tomatoes are what prompted me to comment though. Two years ago, I found a simple salad recipe (I think from Jamie Oliver, I’m not sure) using them… baby spinach, slow-roasted tomatoes, shaved parmesan cheese and a pesto-balsamic vinnaigrette. try it! it is absolutely divine! you could also add some walnuts for some crunch! πŸ™‚

    • I ended up buying in hummus for that night but would love to make it myself! Tastes much nicer! That Cambodian dip really is so delicious, it got eaten really quickly πŸ™‚
      thanks for your kind comment x

  3. Hehe one day a week is always a good start πŸ˜€ I just felt really good to have served up a vegetarian menu which everyone seemed quite excited about! Even my sister’s 100% carnivore fiance said he enjoyed it so that’s a compliment! x x

I love hearing what you all have to say!

