Main Course / Meat Free Monday / Pizza / Vegan

Vegan Apple, Spinach and Asparagus Pizza: Meat Free Monday

When I started becoming more conscious of my health and diet I knew about low fats and high fats and kind of knew about calories and I would just look at the labels and try to make an informed decision about what to buy and eat. But I’m less about labels now and more about using my eyes! Fats in food are still important however I’ve adopted more of “a little bit of everything in moderation” is better than having a naughty high fat day followed by a few low fat days. Instead I try to vary each day as much as possible and incorporate different vegetables and grains and colours and flavours into my meals to make even the healthy meals exciting.

My idea for this pizza came about when I started making my own pizza for me and Scott as a weekend treat and I thought that actually I LOVE pizza and don’t necessarily like the cheese so why not make a cheeseless pizza which doesn’t have to be just for a treat. A few years ago I would have thought this was insane but now I just think it’s normal. Instead of cheese I added fresh tomatoes and apples which gives it such a sweetness, then for some colour I added spinach and asparagus, and finally for that extra push of pure healthiness I added some raw sprouted beans. The combination of flavours is so much more complex and exciting than any cheese could ever deliver and the amount of vitamins you are getting balances out the fact that it’s a pizza πŸ™‚

Oh and just because I felt I might as well take this pizza as far as it can go in the health terms I have also made a wholemeal base packed with seeds to add nutritional fiber and natural oils which your body loves. I tried using different quantities of the whole meal flour and for me this was the best as I didn’t like it when it was more heavy – 100% wholemeal flour was like eating a brick!

Serves 2 … if you want to share!

Pizza base –

100g Plain Bread Flour
40g Wholemeal Bread Flour
1 teaspoon Fast Action Dried Yeast
1 1/2 tablespoons Seed Mix
1 tablespoon Olive Oil
75ml Water
pinch Salt

Add the flours, yeast and seeds into a large mixing bowl and combine together. Make a well in the middle of the flour and pour in the water, oil and a pinch of salt then mix the liquid (using a wooden spoon) into the flour starting from the inside of the well, slowly bringing more flour in untill you have a soft dough. You may need to add a little bit more water but only add 1 tablespoon at a time untill it has come together.

Knead the dough on a floured surface for 5 minutes then roll into a ball and lightly coat with oil. Put it in a bowl and cover with cling film then leave somewhere warm for around an hour untill the dough has risen.

Once risen knock some of the air out of it with your hands then roll out into a circle using a floured rolling-pin. Some of the larger seeds will crack under the rolling-pin but that’s ok.

Preheat the oven to 180c

Pizza Topping-

Tomato puree (or a tomato pizza sauce of your choice)
8 Asparagus Spears
1 Tomato
1 Small apple
Large Handful Spinach
A handful of sprouted beans (I used organic)

Spread a thin layer of tomato puree onto the pizza base, leave a border around the edge for the crust. Then layer on the thinly sliced tomato and apple. Top with some wilted spinach and finally place the asparagus around the pizza.

Place the pizza on a pizza tray in the oven and cook for 12-14 minutes untill the base is cooked through.

Sprinkle the sprouts over the top, slice up and enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Vegan Apple, Spinach and Asparagus Pizza: Meat Free Monday

  1. Pingback: Pizza Dough! A Fail safe recipe for home made pizzas | veghotpot

  2. Wow! Your pizza looks so nutritious. I love pizza too but I only make them when I have a day off as I like to make everything from scratch and leaving the dough to rise.

    • I like to make my own pizza base too πŸ™‚ sometimes I make it the night before and when its at the stage where you leave it to rise I put it in the fridge over night. It’s then risen by the time I’m ready to cook it!

      Or you can make a double quantity and freeze half so next time you want a pizza you can take the dough out to defrost and then roll it out into a base πŸ™‚ x

I love hearing what you all have to say!

