Eggs / Gluten Free / Lunch / Sharing Platters

River Cottage Rocks: Sunday Lunch recipe! Roasted Root Tortilla

This weekend was so lovely and sunny (I know I’ve mentioned that a few times this week now but in the UK it’s easy to get over excited about being able to wear shorts without looking stupid!) and I decided that I would cook a nice sunday lunch for me and Scott. I wanted to tie it in with a monthly challenge I have been taking part in this year – Rivercottage Rocks, over at Jo’s Kitchen.

If you haven’t already found Jo’s blog then go over and take a look! Click Here! She has tonnes of features, not just recipes and there is always something new to read.

This month’s theme was Sunday Lunch and I saw this as a bit of a challenge because I haven’t really cooked a sunday lunch since being a vegetarian and also the usual roast dinner ideas were just not in my interest. I sat with my slightly worn out River Cottage Veg cookbook (Hugh Fearnly Wittingstall’s vegetarian cookbook – worth a read!) and flicked through a good 3 or 4 times deciding which recipe could translate to a sunday lunch time meal.

I think Sunday Lunchtime should revolve around a central point of food which everyone can tuck in and share, rather than just serving up plates of food. Every time I’ve had a sunday lunch there’s always been dishes piled up in the middle of the table that everyone digs in to. Well I didn’t want to make a feast so I chose one dish which would look fab as a central point of a sunday lunch table – The Roasted Root Frittata.

I used potato, sweet potato, parsnip, beetroot, carrot and some roasted courgettes that I’d frozen after cooking in the summer! I mixed 6 eggs with some mint and dill which I had leftover from my herby risotto and I added a little bit of dried thyme!

The recipe said to grate cheese over the top but I’m not a fan of egg and cheese together so I left that bit out and just cooked it in the oven.

I think this dish is so pretty and would look perfect in the middle of any sunday lunch table!! Imagine it surrounded by lots of salads and veg and breads and dips. Delicious!

6 thoughts on “River Cottage Rocks: Sunday Lunch recipe! Roasted Root Tortilla

  1. Pingback: Bank Holiday BBQ: Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers and Root Veg Tortilla « veghotpot

  2. Pingback: River Cottage Rocks! #2: Sunday Lunch The Round Up | Jo's Kitchen

  3. It is so delicious! I’ve been eating it for lunch for the last few days too 🙂 I think it’s nice because you can change the ingredients depending on what you have in the fridge and you can experiment with different herbs too x

I love hearing what you all have to say!

