Curry / Gluten Free / Main Course / Meat Free Monday / Vegan

Aubergine and Potato Curry: Meat Free Monday

I have always made tomato based currys in the past as it was cheaper to make and I understood the flavours, however I have started using coconut milk to give a different look and taste to a curry. I know a Thai curry uses coconut milk however my ingredients here are not Thai so I imagine this curry is lacking any regional inspiration…but it tastes great!

I always buy light coconut milk just because I still can’t bring myself to buy the full fat stuff, even though I now realise there is more to nutrition than high fats and low fats…there are good fats and bad fats and I think everything in moderation is good for you! Ok I’ve said the word fat too much so I’m not going to say that again! Lets just say that this curry is packed full of goodness and is a nice little treat 🙂

I love aubergines (Eggplant), I think they are so versatile and they just soak up any flavours put with them. I was tempted to add chickpeas but decided to go with potatoes because I hardly ever eat potatoes so this is a nice way to incorporate them into my meals! You can add chickpeas if you wish or lentils would probably work too!

I also added green beans and peas because I always like to have something green in a dish where I can squeeze it in, it adds interest and brings colour to the curry. They also tasted really nice and lightened the dish up a bit.

Aubergine Curry – Serves 4 (freezable)

1 Large Onion
1 Aubergine
1 Baking Potato
2 Garlic Cloves
1 tspn Curry Powder
1 tspn Turmeric
1 tspn Black Mustard Seeds
1 Red Chilli1 Can Light Coconut Milk
Large Handful Green Beans
Large Handful Frozen Peas

To prepare the vegetables:

Dice the onion. Cut the Aubergine into quite large pieces (about 1 inch big) so that they keep their shape. Cut the potato into pieces roughly the same size as the aubergine, I don’t peel my potatoes but feel free to peel them if you want.
Trim the ends off the green beans. Crush the garlic and finally finely slice the red chilli.

Soften the onion in a little oil in a large deep frying pan or a large saucepan for a few minutes then add the aubergine, potato, garlic, spices and the red chilli.

Stir to combine all the ingredients and cook for a further 5 minutes.

Add the Coconut Milk, stir again and then cover the pan and simmer for 15 minutes.

Add the green beans and peas then cover and simmer for a further 10 minutes.

Serve with Rice and a garnish of coriander!

15 thoughts on “Aubergine and Potato Curry: Meat Free Monday

  1. Pingback: National Curry Week 8th – 14th October: An easy way to celebrate vegan foods! « veghotpot

    • Growing Aubergines sounds good! I still haven’t grown any veg even though I had wanted to this year – really need to buy like a beginner guide or something 🙂 Hope you enjoy the curry when the aubergines are ready x

  2. flavors, sound awesome- curry is a fantastic satiating meatless meal option! I will try this… Ooo and you refreshed me on what aubergines are 🙂 thanks

    • I’m finding curried really fun to cook, theyre are endless possibilities! Hehe I put eggplant in brackets because I know I have a lot of non UK readers 🙂 hope you like it if you try it x

      • My favorite market in the world so far is borough market… I had some fantastic curries there- aw man I can taste it in my mouth right now. This recipe reminds me of one they had there. If you can get over there- they have spices I only wish to have everyday access to that make the curries so delightful!

  3. Looks terrific! I can never quite bring myself to buy full-fat coconut milk either. 🙂 And this dish certainly looks hearty and flavorful without all the extra fat! Will give it a try!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

