Breakfast / Eggs

Meat Free Breakfast: Mushroom and Rosemary Scrambled Eggs

Today kicks off National Vegetarian Week so I thought instead of focusing on offering a dinner recipe I would share a breakfast idea. Meat Free Monday isn’t just about cutting out meat from your evening meals and one complete day without meat a week could be really beneficial to your health and the environment. Before I went vegetarian my favourite weekend breakfast was a grilled bacon sandwich or a sausage bap with a fried egg. Turning vegetarian not only made my choices healthier but also opened me up to a greater variety of ingredients to include, such as a medly of tomatoes griddled and served with nice thick slice of toast or home made baked beans with loads of goodies stirred in!

Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day but I think all of my weekend breakfasts revolve around eggs, if you are vegan then this mushroom mix is still definitely worth a try and would be fantastic on some grilled sourdough toast or even served simply with some panfried tomatoes.

I would usually match  mushrooms with thyme because together they are so delicious, but I have a rosemary plant in my back garden so I decided to use some of that instead. It was delicious so I’m glad I did!

This recipe will serve two but Scott doesn’t like mushrooms really so I just made it for myself and froze half the mushroom mixture. I figured it’ll taste amazing stirred into a pasta dish another day.

6 Closed Cup Mushrooms
15g Dried Porcini or Mixed Mushrooms
1 Red Onion
1 Garlic Clove
2 Sprigs of Rosemary
2 Spring Onions

Soak the dried mushrooms in 1 cup of boiling water and put to one side.

Heat some oil, butter or spray oil in a frying pan and add the diced red onion, crushed garlic and rosemary. Soften for around 3 minutes depending on the heat of your pan (try to keep it quite a moderate heat). Once the onion has begun to soften add the sliced closed cup mushrooms for around 1 minute. Give it all a good stir frequently so it doesnt stick to the pan!

Drain the porcini mushrooms but reserve the water. Chop any large pieces then add them to the pan with the mushroom water. Continue to cook on a moderate heat untill the water has evaporated and everything is cooked.

Season to taste then add the chopped spring onions, stir and remove from the heat.

Make your scrambled eggs (see my opinion of the perfect method here), put your toast on and then serve the eggs and mushrooms on the toast.

This was so delicious I didn’t even add ketchup!!

An alternative way of serving these mushrooms with eggs is to make an egg net which kind of looks like a pancake with holes in it! It’s so simple and looks impressive. You make this by heating a oil in a pan untill really hot. Beat an egg and put it into a jug with a very thin spout so that the egg pours out in a thin stream. Once the pan is hot slowly pour the egg into the pan making a zig zag pattern making sure you leave some holes but not too many. This will cook really quickly and should slide out of the pan like a pancake! Pile the mushrooms into the middle and wrap it up.

Are you making any changes for National Vegetarian Week? What’s your favourite weekend breakfast?

10 thoughts on “Meat Free Breakfast: Mushroom and Rosemary Scrambled Eggs

  1. Pingback: A recipe round up of my Fave Eggy Recipes and Vegan Versions – British Egg Week | veghotpot

I love hearing what you all have to say!

