Appetisers/ Starters / Beans/ Legumes / Dinner Party menus / Meat Free Monday / Pies and Pastry / Sharing Platters

Spring Vegetable, Goats Cheese and White Bean Pie: Meat Free Monday

I wanted to make a special dinner for me and Scott which we could both enjoy and would feel like a treat. We’ve been really healthy recently getting ready for the summer so we definitely deserved it! I’ve been wanting to use filo pastry again for a while because there are so many different things to do with it and out of all the pastry options it is the lesser guilty option. I decided to buy a flan dish to make a big pie rather than make mini ones again (I got mine from Sainsburys for only 2.66!)

I have been really inspired recently by beans and grains and have been using them alot more in my cooking which has been really interesting and also seems to be more healthy. I’ve felt less sluggish from refined carbs and have dropped a few pounds even though I’m eating the same amount! For this pie I have made it more substantial by adding a bean and garden pea puree underneath all of the vegetables. As you can see from the photos below I first put a layer of bean and pea puree, then cooked spring vegetables and lastly some goats cheese.

I used goats cheese because it has a lower lactose level than cheese from cows milk. If you are vegan I am sure this pie would taste just as nice without any need for the cheese.I was very impressed that Scott liked it as much as he did because I really wasn’t sure it would go down well as a vegetarian date night dinner however I received lots of compliments and enthusiasm so there we have it, A husband approved vegetarian pie πŸ™‚ (Also the pie was substantial enough to serve on it’s own so there was only one dish, a chopping board, cutlery and 2 plates to wash up) Perfect!


So here is the recipe (serves 4 – we had left overs the next day and it tasted just as nice!)

For the bean and pea puree:
1 can Cannellini beans (235g drained)
90-100g Frozen peas (defrosted, cooked and cooled)
1 Lemon – Juice only
10 Mint Leaves
3 Spring Onions
1 Large Garlic Clove

Blend all of the ingredients together to make a smooth puree and season to taste. Put to one side.

For the Pie:
130g (1 cup) Shelled Broad Beans
10-12 Asparagus Spears
1 Leek
1 Onion
Bunch Mint
1 tspn Dried or Fresh Dill
100g Goats Cheese
4-5 Filo Pastry sheets

Pre heat the oven to 190c. In a sauce pan saute the leeks, onion, dill and mint in a little olive oil untill softened.

Boil or steam the asparagus and broad beans for around 5-6 minutes untill softened. Drain well.

Lightly grease your flan dish and then layer the filo pastry sheets over each other, lightly brush or spray each layer with a little oil to help stick together. I had to cut the edges off some of my sheets as they were too long, I used the edges I had sliced off by laying them in the dish to create a thick bottom layer.

Scoop the bean and pea puree into the filo pastry pie and smooth it down into a nice even layer. Add the sauteed leeks and onions in next, then layer your asparagus and broad beans on the top.

Crumble the goats cheese and sprinkle it over the top of the pie so it is evenly covered. Scrunch up the edges of the pastry to make a rustic but attractive edge (see photos).

Place the pie in the oven for 25 minutes untill hot through and the pastry has browned.

Serve hot!

22 thoughts on “Spring Vegetable, Goats Cheese and White Bean Pie: Meat Free Monday

  1. Pingback: Seasonal Vegan Tofu and Garden Pea ‘Quiche’ | veghotpot

  2. Pingback: Canapes Two Ways: Bean Puree Bruschetta and Mixed Mushroom Polenta – Virtual Vegan Potluck! « veghotpot

    • I love mint too its so versatile and can be matched with sweet or savoury which is always a bonus! Weve got loads growing in our garden so I’ve been using it alot recently πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Yeah I have been trying different fillings because I am always put off by the traditional “quiche” recipe. It makes for a completely different texture but still very delicious x

  3. This looks so good! I think I could get my meat eaters to try this as well.

    This may sound silly, but what diameter is your flan dish? I want to make sure I have the right size to make this yummy-looking dish!

    • cheers, I didn’t want to just keep adding beans to my meals just as they are because it may get a bit samey so I decided a puree would be a great way to bulk up this pie!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

