Cakes / Chocolate / Puddings

A Rather Grown-up Chocolate Rice Krispie Cake

I know what you were instantly thinking…ooh alcoholic! But unfortunately no I have not made alcoholic krispie cakes, although if you were to soak the dried fruit in a liquor of your choice first I wouldn’t tell any one!As long as I can have one too 🙂

I decided I needed a sweet fix which wouldn’t be too unhealthy and without the need to actually bake anything and I instantly thought back to the easiest cake in the world to make (which was also the most fun when we were younger) ……rice krispies cakes. These are simply made by pouring rice krispies into a large bowl, melting chocolate in a seperate bowl and then mixing them together. Place scoops of chocolatey rice krispie mixture into muffin cases and set in the fridge. You could add all sorts such as marshmallows and smarties but for us adults I thought why not add some dried fruits and “Superfoods”…

I had recently invested in some amazing varieties of Linwoods ‘Superfoods’ which includes sachets of organic milled flaxseed, shelled hemp, milled flaxseed mixed with nuts, milled flax with seeds and goji berries and finally milled flaxseeds with cocoa berries.

I have also tried stirring these into my porridge but I think this (covered in chocolate) is my favourite way of eating them. These have been great for me because it’s not something I would add to every meal but the mini sachets at a reasonable price has meant I have been able to experiment without buying a big bag of one flavour.

We also had quite a bit of dried fruit left over from our wedding (we had tiers of wheels of cheese with cake stands next to it filled with dried fruits and grapes) so I had been thinking of a way of using these up too. There isn’t a strict recipe for these cakes as I have changed it everytime I make them so I’m just going to give you a few suggestions of the combinations we have enjoyed. Choose a couple of ingredients from each category and have fun!


Cereals:

Rice Krispies
Branflakes
Cornflakes
Granola
Oats

Dried Fruits: Chop into small pieces
Dried Cranberries (craisins)
Raisins
Dried Figs
Prunes
Dried Apricots

Mixed Nuts: Chop into small pieces
Brazil nuts
Almonds
Macademias

Superfoods:
Milled Organic Flaxseed
Shelled Hemp
Milled Flaxseed, Almonds, Brazil Nuts, Walnuts
Milled Flax, Sunflower, Pumpkin and Sesame Seeds and Goji Berries
Milled Flaxseed, Cocoa and Berries

Mix all of your chosen ingredients from the above categories together in a bowl then choose a type of chocolate (any type will do!) and melt it in a seperate bowl. Pour it into the bowl with the dry ingredients and mix well. I have found that 150g of chocolate will make around 10 cakes. Then fill the muffin cases with the mix and put in the fridge to set.

Chocolate: (I have always used Green n Blacks)
Dark Chocolate
Ginger Chocolate
Cherry Chocolate
Milk Chocolate
White Chocolate

8 thoughts on “A Rather Grown-up Chocolate Rice Krispie Cake

    • Id really recommend that variety pack it’s a perfect way to get a variation of the different seeds and nutrients into your diet and it was only about £3.99! x

    • Good question!! Definitely make sure theres more cereal than anything, I would usually use 2-3 cups of cereal and then a handful of chopped fruits and 1-2 tablespoons of the milled seeds. I also found that 100-1005g bar of chocolate melted down will be enough to mix about 8-10 cakes. Hope that helps 🙂 x

  1. Cornflake cakes with raisins have always been my favourite! Even when we made them with the fake chocolate cake covering I loved them. Not fussy when it comes to chocolate 😉 Nice idea to make them a bit more grown up.

    • hehe the nice thing about cakes like this is you still get that little childish excitement about the simplicity of chocolate covered cereal…but with a little bit of added substance to it so its more of an energy snack 🙂

I love hearing what you all have to say!

