Friday Challenge / Gnocchi

Gnocchi Gratin (‘The Domestic Goddess Challenge’ recipe): Friday challenge


This is one of those recipes that is just a really great weekday meal, it would have been quicker if I hadn’t decided to make the gnocchi from scratch but hey practise makes perfect! I found this recipe on “The Domestic Goddess Challenge” blog so please follow the link to see the full list of ingredients and method! I’m not sure my photo does it justice (it’s hard to make bakes/ gratins look pretty!)

I was so pleased with how my gnocchi came out this time, it felt better doing it a second time around because I knew what to expect. I made the following changes:

  • I cut the potatoes up into quarters before boiling them so they would cook quicker
  • I boiled the potatoes for longer and only took them out when I pressed down on them with a fork and they broke.
  • I got Scott to mash them, he has stronger arms than me so got a much smoother mashed potato to work with

I added some carrots and mushrooms along with the veg Sian suggests in her recipe and also I didn’t add the wine because I didn’t have any! I also roasted my own peppers, it’s very simple just coat a little oil on a whole pepper and put it in the oven for 20-25 minutes. Once cooked you can pull the green stalk out and all the seeds will come out with it. Then peel any thick skin off and slice!
Also, I agree that the bread crumb topping is a must! It just finishes it off beautifully and adds a little crunch.

I served Scott’s with a chicken leg which had a sage and garlic butter under the skin, such a simple addition to the chicken but made it a bit special! I will often serve us up the same vegetarian one pot dish and I’ll have salad and Scott will have chicken, beef or sausages. It’s a lot easier than making two gratins/ casseroles/ curries etc, one veggie and one with meat. Of course Scott doesn’t always have the meat sometimes we just have a complete vegetarian night!

I’ve decided I’m a massive fan of gnocchi in all forms! I love making it, kneading an impossibly soft dough is so relaxing and then it is so easy to cook because it tells you when it’s done. I love how the most fragile little pillows of dough become quite resilient when cooked and can then be popped into a sauce or mixed with vegetables and baked.

What I have learnt about Gnocchi:
Now that I have the basics of how to make gnocchi I can see how versatile it can be and there are plenty of ways to experiment with flavour combinations. They key is to make sure you have a perfectly smooth mashed potato to begin with, any lumps will be very obvious in your gnocchi (trust me I know!).
Secondly you have to make sure you don’t use too much flour otherwise it’ll over power the flavour of the gnocchi, you need a soft but still slightly sticky dough.
And last but not least make sure you cook them in batches (I had a large pan so did 10 at a time) to stop them sticking together.


Can’t wait to have a go at my own recipe, I have some great ideas so I think I may be eating gnocchi every day next week in preparation! mmmm

3 thoughts on “Gnocchi Gratin (‘The Domestic Goddess Challenge’ recipe): Friday challenge

I love hearing what you all have to say!

