Eggs / Travels / Wraps/ Rolls and Tacos

Katz Deli New York City – Egg Salad Sandwiches

This is the last of my “What we ate on honeymoon” posts, I shared my new found love of Poutine from our time in Montreal and also had a go at a healthy version of deep fried pickles from Toronto.

My Version of Poutine

My Version of Deep Fried Pickles

One of the main tourist attractions we wanted to visit, along side The Empire State Building/ Statue of Liberty etc was Katz Deli, famous for the fact it was the background setting to the timeless “I’ll have what she’s having” scene in When Harry Met Sally but also famous for it’s gigantic portion sizes. New York was relatively healthy compared to what we were expecting from America so we we’re actually kind of excited about seeing what they had to offer.

The little yellow ticket you are handed when you walk in appears to have no purpose however if you lose it whilst dining there then you have to pay a $50 fine!!

I had looked on the menu before we left so I already knew that my options as a vegetarian were extremely limited but I still wanted to go and have fun. I felt a bit embarrassed ordering the Egg Salad sandwich which was hidden at the bottom of the menu underneath the endless choices of pastrami, beef and tongue sandwiches, I felt even more embarrassed when the waiter (loudly infront of everyone) said “Whats the point of coming all this way if your not going to try our famous pastrami!” Well sir there is more to life than pastrami!!

To begin with we were given a plate of pickles and also pickled green tomatoes, I tried one it was ok although a bit tangy for my taste. Scott ordered a Brisket sandwich and I had the Egg Salad. I was expecting Egg mayo with salad however this had salad items mixed in with the egg! It was nice but I think there were about 8 eggs in my sandwich and also it tasted a little powdery and dry. I had to have a lot of drinks to get through the sandwich.

The Egg Salad Monster Sandwich

Once back in the UK I decided to make my own Egg Salad sandwich, not to the extreme of this mammoth but just a respectful nod to the deli and our time in New York. I decided to make mine an open sandwich because with the amount of filling I had infront of me I definitely needed a knife and fork! I mixed up the salad aspect of the sandwich so I have mixed some ingredients in with the egg just like the deli did, and I have layered some underneath the egg. This gives a mix of textures as well!

My Open Egg Salad Sandwich

For this Sandwich I mixed 2 roughly chopped boiled eggs with 2 sliced spring onions4 plum tomatoes chopped small and 1 tablespoon of Wholegrain Mustard. Then I sliced 1 ciabatta in half and on each half I layered 2 gem lettuce leaves, 2 slices of roasted red pepper and 2 slices of gherkin/ pickle. Then I piled the egg mixture on top and dug in! I really liked having pickle with the egg this is something I will eat together more often.

Egg Salad Sandwich

I really enjoyed Katz Deli and would recommend it to any hard core carnivores out there because the meat options looked really good and Scott confirmed that his first ever taste of Brisket was delicious. Also the atmosphere was great and I loved people watching and seeing what everyone had chosen to eat!

6 thoughts on “Katz Deli New York City – Egg Salad Sandwiches

  1. I cannot believe it has never occurred to me to make a sandwich like yours! SO scrumptious looking! Next time you are in NYC, let me know. I know all the good vegan and vegetarian spots! But trust Katz that the pastrami really is out of this world. 😉

    • Open sandwiches are great you can top them with all sorts! Oo definitely if I’m ever back over that way (I hope so one day!) I’ll make sure to find out all the good places to go thanks 🙂

    • Thank you 🙂 It was fun to share everything we tried. I think travelling is even more fun if your a foodie, it’s the best way of getting to know a different culture well and there are always plenty of stories surrounding food!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

