Vegan MoFo

Vegan MoFo Begins!

Ok so along with hundreds of other bloggers I’ve signed up for the 2012 Vegan Month of Food writing challenge (see more details here). The aim is to write at least 20 posts this month which is a lot more than I usually do so I hope you enjoy everything I am going to try to discover in this month and hopefully I’ll manage to get the content together for you all 🙂

I haven’t chosen a strict theme for the month but instead as a non vegan who is always considering going vegan I wanted to focus this month on what sort of things would need to be considered, how it can be easier than you think, some myths unravelled and also plenty of vegan recipes! It’s actually World Vegan month in November and before hearing about Vegan MoFo I had already decided to go vegan for the month to try it out, so I’m going to use the month of October as a nice warm up to the real thing!

All posts during October will be either vegan recipes, about vegan things or I guess just my usual chatter but if you look further through my blog you will find recipes which include eggs and cheese etc because usually I am not vegan – so please feel free to browse but please take note that this is not normally a vegan blog.

I googled “What is a vegan” and here is what I found (Source – Vegetarian Resource Group):

What is a Vegan?

Vegetarians do not eat meat, fish, or poultry. Vegans, in addition to being vegetarian, do not use other animal products and by-products such as eggs, dairy products, honey, leather, fur, silk, wool, cosmetics, and soaps derived from animal products.

I hadn’t thought about all the non foodie things that vegans need to consider and I’m not really in a position to comment on whether people should be wearing wool or not so I’m more excited by sharing how creative vegan food can be and not pointing out everything in this world which has harmed an animal to be made. Lets keep focused on the positive!!

I’m not a massive fan of using vegan replacements such as vegan cheese/ cream etc because it all sounds horribly processed but I know for convenience it would be good to try, I am partial to the occasional veggie sausage or burger when I’m feeling the need for something junky! I’d rather have a cheeseless pizza topped with tonnes of tasty veggies and a rich tomato sauce to be honest! So I think that is where I will start for this month – A beginner’s guide to not eating cheese!

Any vegans out there who have a favourite vegan cheese? Anyone else joining in with Vegan MoFo?

NB – If you want to see who else is taking part in Vegan MoFo then check out this HUGE Blog roll 🙂 can’t wait to start browsing!

3 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo Begins!

  1. Pingback: Meat Free Mondays – Butternut Squash Enchiladas | Budget Cooking Blog

    • I’m the same I’ve not eaten meat in over a year now and I don’t miss it at all but after focusing on a more vegan way of thinking for this month I realised I eat a lot more cheese than I thought! I really hope you enjoy the month, theres going to be a lot more content than usual! 🙂

I love hearing what you all have to say!

