Main Course / Vegan / Vegan MoFo / Wraps/ Rolls and Tacos

Butternut Squash Enchiladas: Meat Free Monday

Vegan, delicious and so so easy to make!

I have had a really busy few weeks at work – busy to the point where when I come home I haven’t felt like cooking (well as much as I normally do) so all of our dinners have gone back to basics and I’ve been takingย  a lot of short cuts (like using pre made curry paste instead of building up the flavours). In this recipe I use a jar of tomato salsa mixed with canned tomatoes, it gives the sauce a gorgeous sweet and spicy flavour with absolutely no fuss!

You can find jars of salsa in the supermarket, usually in the aisle with the Doritos (tortilla crisps) or in the mexican section with the ‘make your own’ kits.

In line with my vegan mofo I have omitted our usual sprinkle of cheese and it was still really tasty and much fresher. I think a meal like this can be celebrated as the ultimate healthy comfort food, along side a good hearty stew or soup!

I serve 2 wraps each!

This is also a meal which is easily adapted if you are like me and you have a meat loving husband! For Scott I mix in some good quality organic bacon or some free range chicken and then when serving up you have something for everyone all in one baking tray!

Serves 4 (2 wraps each)

1 Large Butternut Squash/ Pumpkin/ Gourd or you could even use all of those courgettes you have left from the last bit of summer
2 Onions
2 Garlic Cloves
1 tablespoon Chilli powder or you can use paprika/ mexican seasoning/ chilli flakes
Oil for roasting
1 Jar Tomato Salsa (I used this one)
2 Cans Chopped Tomatoes
Fresh Coriander
8 Wholemeal or multigrain tortilla wraps

Preheat your oven to 180c (fan oven) 200c (other ovens). Pour approx 1 tablespoon of oil into a large baking tray and place into the oven for a few minutes to heat up the oil.

Peel and slice your butternut squash, peel the garlic and onion and roughly chop. Put all the ingredients into the warmed baking tray and sprinkle over the chilli powder, mix so that everything is coated in spice and oil. Roast in the oven for 20 minutes (I sat and had a cup of tea while it was roasting!).

Veggies ready to be roasted

Mix the tomato salsa and chopped tomatoes in a bowl. Warm each tortilla wrap in the microwave for 10 seconds each, then place some of the roasted bns mix in the middle of the wrap, pour over some tomato salsa mix (make sure you leave some salsa left for the end) and roll the wrap up then place in a deep rectangle baking dish. Repeat with each wrap (I had to use two baking dishes as could only fit 4 wraps in each dish).

Pour the remaining tomato salsa over the rolled up tortillas and top with fresh coriander. Finish off in the oven for 10 minutes untill browned and the edges of the tortilla have started to crisp up.

14 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Enchiladas: Meat Free Monday

  1. Pingback: Cooking for a multi diet family of two | veghotpot

  2. Pingback: Vegan MoFo: The Final Round-up « veghotpot

  3. Pingback: Vegan MoFo 6 – Weekly Favorites | The Green Cuisine

  4. Pingback: Vegan MoFo #6 – Favorieten vd Week | De Groene Keuken

  5. Pingback: Meat Free Mondays – Butternut Squash Enchiladas | Budget Cooking Blog

      • Well, I haven’t had all that much experience with creating different enchiladas, but as a former cheese eater, anything that I could melt cheese on would top my list. ๐Ÿ™‚ But now that I’m vegan, rather than depending on vegan cheeses to carry me thru, I’d have to give that some thought. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Vicki

I love hearing what you all have to say!

