Curry / Friday Challenge / Main Course / Quinoa / Tofu / Vegan / Vegan MoFo

Curried Coconut Quinoa with Tofu and Green Beans

This is my Friday Challenge own recipe using pretty much everything I have learnt over the last few weeks. I focused on using the curry leaf powder because this is something I had no experience with. It has quite a strong flavour so I toned it down with some coconut, which also made the quinoa lovely and creamy.

I also loved the technique used in Simon Rimmer’s recipe for ‘Plantain and Mango Curry‘ where he added turmeric to the water when cooking the plantain which turned them bright yellow. I decided to use this technique when cooking my quinoa and it worked beautifully. Adding turmeric doesn’t add much to the flavour but it does add to the colour! Perfect when your after quite a subtle flavour.

And finally the last thing I have used from my past posts is Jamie Oliver’s Korma Curry Paste. I chose the korma curry paste because I had added coconut to the quinoa and so this would create a lovely mild sauce which will compliment the spiced quinoa and fresh green beans.

I think one thing I might possibly change if I was to make this again, is that it’s a very yellow dish! I like a variety of colours on my plate and so maybe some reds and stronger greens by adding fresh chillies and spinach could make this look better!

Serves 4

150g (1 cup) Quinoa
500ml Water
1 tspn Ground Turmeric
2 tspn Curry Leaf Powder
2 tblspn desiccated Coconut or chopped Coconut flakes
Large Bunch Coriander, chopped
300ml Coconut milk (100ml for quinoa and 200ml for curry sauce)
1 tspn Mustard Seeds
1 tablespn or 1 portion of korma curry paste
4 thick slices of tofu, firm or pressed
Large handful green beans (enough for 4)

In a Colander rinse the quinoa really well then place in a saucepan with the water and turmeric, stir then put a lid on. Heat on a medium heat for 20 minutes untill all the water is absorbed. Check it quite often as you don’t want it to stick to the bottom of the pan.

While the quinoa is cooking place a sauce pan on a medium – high heat and add the mustard seeds and dry fry untill they begin to pop, this releases their flavour.

Once the quinoa is cooked take off the heat and then stir in the curry leaf powder, coconut flakes, mustard seeds, fresh coriander and 100ml of coconut milk untill everything is well combined. Taste and season with a little salt if you want

Put the green beans in a saucepan or steamer and cook.

Meanwhile put the frying pan back on the medium heat and add the korma paste, fry for 2 minutes and then add the coconut milk and stir. Add the tofu slices to the pan and cook for around 12 minutes turning the tofu only once if possible. It is ready when the sauce has thickened and the tofu is hot.

I always get a bit nervous cooking foods such as curries and using spices because I haven’t ever had the chance to travel and learn about the cuisine so these sorts of dishes are just created from what I think goes nicely together. I liked this dish because of the strong curry leaf flavoured quinoa against the creamy, soft and mildly spices tofu.

ps I can’t believe it, I have managed to do over 20 posts for Vegan MoFo so far! Knowing that I had to post much more than usual has actually been fun because I’ve posted about things which before I would have thought might be boring. Such as brands of sausages Id like to try…which actually had the most views of the week! so I think after Vegan MoFo is over I will keep relaxed about my posting schedule and enjoy just sharing more.

8 thoughts on “Curried Coconut Quinoa with Tofu and Green Beans

  1. Pingback: Friday Challenge 2012: A look back at what I’ve learnt « veghotpot

    • Thanks! I actually haven’t got anything planned for November. I’ve learnt so much this year I need to think of 2 more ingredients that Im unfamiliar with to get me through untill the year is over!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

