Lunch / Soup / Vegan

I Officially Declare Soup Season OPEN!

Brrr it’s cold isn’t it! Oh no I’m being very British again and starting a post with a comment on the weather, it’s not even properly winter yet but the temperatures have dropped very suddenly around London and the nights are getting dark from 5pm and my woolly jumpers have found their way out of the cupboard. So I officially declare soup season OPEN!

I love soup because it is filling and versatile. You can jazz your soup up with a variety of toppings and add depth with added yoghurt or spice or asian flavours such as soya and mirin. For a good home made soup you need a good homemade vegetable stock. I think it makes a real difference using your own stock and it is easily freezable so whenever you fancy making some soup you can just pull a tub of stock out of the freezer. This stock is my mums recipe which I originally posted in June and it has since become a staple in my kitchen.

The vegetable stock slowly simmering away

Generally people are so busy these days (I know that I am at the moment) that using a stock cube speeds up the process of making a meal but often the meal then has a salty and synthetic flavour. A homemade stock, however, takes 5 minutes to prepare and 30 minutes to quietly simmer while you are doing something else. Then it can be stored in the fridge or freezer.

Makes approx 1 litre

1 Onion – quartered
2 Carrots – chunks
1 Leek – thick sliced
2 Celery – thick sliced
2-3 Garlic – depending on size, sliced
2-3 Bay leaves –
1 tspn Dried thyme
Lots of parsley and parsley stalks (You can freeze parsley/ coriander stalks for when you want to make stock)
1 ½ litres of water with teaspoon of salt added
100ml of white wine (or 1 small glass)
8 black peppercorns

To make the stock simply put all the ingredients in a pan, except the wine, bring to the boil, cover with a lid and put on a gentle simmer for 15 minutes.

After 15 minutes add the white wine, check the seasoning and adjust but do not add too much salt because this can be adjusted with your final soup dish.

Strain the stock and discard the flavourings.

Then you can make some of these fabulous soups!!

Kale, Lentil and Ginger Soup

Great for getting rid of those colds!

Nettle Soup

Beautiful rich and healthy Nettle Soup!

Pea, Leek and Fennel Soup

A comforting blended soup with mild fennel flavour

Cauliflower, Lentil and Spinach Soup

I love lentils in soup! Plus Cauliflower is a nice seasonal ingredient

Have you started eating soups yet? Do you have a favourite soup ingredient? I think at the moment mine is celeriac!

18 thoughts on “I Officially Declare Soup Season OPEN!

  1. Pingback: Red Lentil and Root Vegetable Soup « veghotpot

  2. ooo i never thought of putting wine in stock, i’m gonna have to try that next time. I might try one with red wine for a red meat stock….! It is definitely soup season though – im reading this whilst eating one of my homemade soups – chilli, butternut squash & coconut! It’s still got a taste of summer, but keeping me warm in the winter 🙂 🙂 xx

  3. It has been soup time over here a few weeks earlier! Your soups look all freaking delicious! I especially love the caulifower, lentils & spinach soup but I will use Swiss Chard instead of the spinach from my garden! 🙂 Yummm!

  4. Ha! Now I know that perpetual talk of the weather is British and not just certain British people I know!

    I am super excited to try making my own veggie stock, thank you for the idea. 🙂

    • Yeah it’s definitely just the British in general 🙂 at work we can literally sit and discuss the weather all day, and if it changes at all then that’s the start of a whole new conversation 😉

  5. Soup…the true food of the masses…rumoured to be magic enough to be made from a single stone ;). Seriously though its a scientific fact that men (only men 😦 ) who eat soup once a week live years longer than their non soup eating counterparts. I might not be a man (well…I wasn’t the last time I looked 😉 ) BUT I adore soup and as a vegan, it gives me a huge range of options for quick meals that can be frozen for later and cobbled together with home made crackers, bread and pasta. Cheers for this unctious selection I will get the soup dragon onto them 🙂

    • I’ll have to make soup for Scott more often! 🙂 I love soup too every week I try and make a big batch for the freezer, it’s handy for the days when I’m feeling lazy but want to steer clear of a takeaway!

  6. I totally imagined you making that declaration next to a big gong! But yes, you’re right, it’s time! I looked at your stock and was like ooh, nice soup- lol! I’ve been thinking about using lentils this year, yay! 🙂

  7. i have really got on the soups lately, and stews and currys! im by the sea in england and boy does that sea air chill you to the bones! that kale and lentil ginger soup sounds like just the thing i need to keep me warm.

I love hearing what you all have to say!

