Appetisers/ Starters / Beans/ Legumes / Gluten Free / Lunch / Salads / Side Dishes

Balsamic Roasted Radish, Chickpea and Feta Side Salad

This recipe came about because at the beginning of the week I had planned to make a big chickpeas and pumpkin salad for my lunches but after a few cold days and the need to use up some other ingredients I turned the salad into a chickpea and pumpkin soup. This meant I had lots of little items left such as a big unopened bag of radishes, cucumber and avocados.

Roasted Radishes give this salad a warming wintery feel

I still didn’t really fancy a salad any more but then I remembered ages ago I had seen a few recipes for roasting radishes just like other root veg so I decided this would be more of a wintery radish salad! Roasted radishes are delicious, they are no longer crisp and peppery but they are soft and have a subtle deep flavour! It’s a perfect way of transforming a summer salad into a winter salad.

I also roasted the chickpeas with the radishes, I love roasted chickpeas as they go really dark and nutty which makes them more interesting in a salad. Make sure you are roasting already cooked chickpeas though and not the dried ones! Adding chickpeas gives this a bit of substance so you could eat it by itself but I quite like the idea of having it as a side salad to some beany burgers or even to lighten up a sausage dinner!

You could eat this salad when the radishes are still warm out of the oven, then they are still glossy and delicious, or you can let it cool down as they intensify slightly although they do go a tiny bit wrinkled!

Serves 2

around 28 radishes (or a couple of handfuls)
1/2 Can Cooked Chickpeas (1/2 cup)
1 tblspoon Olive Oil
2 tspn Balsamic Vinegar
Salt (I used Himalayan Salt)

1/4 Cucumber
1/2 avocado
1/2 Small Red Onion (or spring onions if you don’t like red onion)
Approx 50g Feta Cheese

Parsley for garnish

Heat your oven to 190c. Slice the radishes in half and place in a large baking tray then pour over the chickpeas. Coat in the oil, salt and balsamic vinegar.
Roast in the oven for 15 minutes. (Leave to cool if you are eating them cold)

Dice the cucumber, avocado and finely slice the red onion and mix with the radishes and chickpeas. Crumble the feta over the top then give it a good stir so everything is mixed. Drizzle over any leftover oil and balsamic from the baking tray or add another drizzle if it was all absorbed. Put in a big bowl for everyone to help themselves and garnish with parsley.

 

10 thoughts on “Balsamic Roasted Radish, Chickpea and Feta Side Salad

  1. Superb, I love a roasted radish but rarely have them. This is the sort of salad that is rustic as well as capable of using ingredients from the store cupboard. Will make a note of this.

    • These are the sort of ingredients I always have in the kitchen (things like radishes usually get left behind if I haven’t made as much salad as planned). Definitely very rustic 🙂

  2. It’s so funny but that is exactly how I make the majority of my meals – from last minute switch ups. Very creative way of using radishes

    • I panicked because I had not managed to do any cooking OR a food shop over the weekend so I wondered what would be put on the blog. Actually when I have little to work with I seem to get more creative 🙂

      • Absolutely! Not only do you feel that urgency to make use of the produce before it goes bad (because let’s face it no one likes wasting money) but it also translates to an opportunity to get creative, so win-win! Keep up the mad dash cooking!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

