Beans/ Legumes / Gluten Free / Lentils / Main Course / Pies and Pastry / Potato / Vegan

Lentil and Chickpea Cottage Pie with Sweet Potato Topping

DSC_1673

Comfort food? Again! Yup! A lot of my recipes are definitely classed as comfort food but with a healthy twist. I love traditional recipes such as cottage pie, stews, pasta dishes etc but I focus on keeping that foodie cuddle it gives you without the extra fat. I keep everything vegetarian on here and I like to think its all quite frugal!

This recipe is a great example of this because it can provide a few days food for a family of 2 or 3, it freezes well, it’s healthy and it is comforting 🙂

I just want to focus on some of the ingredients I’ve used today which are slightly different than my usual favourites. I’m not allergic to wheat and gluten but after cutting it out I noticed some very positive changes such as a flat stomach with no bloating and much more energy. Over the Christmas period I got a bit lapse with this and I’ve eaten way too many bready products so now I am starting again! One thing I noticed when I first made the change was that my usual stock cubes were not suitable any more. You can make your own stock or I found this brand of stock cubes which are organic and gluten/ lactose free! Perfect 🙂

DSC_1652

Available in most supermarkets and definitely sainsburys!

The other ingredient I have used differently in this recipe is rice flour. I was actually looking for gram flour (made from chickpeas) but I couldn’t find it so I decided to try rice flour instead. In the past I have just used plain flour in this recipe which will work just fine too. The purpose of the flour here is to thicken the sauce and also bind the ingredients.

Rice flour

Available in supermarkets (again I got it in sainsburys)

So, now on to the recipe – as usual this recipe is pretty transferable to anything you may have in your cupboard, I used green lentils and chickpeas however you could use cooked red or puy lentils and you could swap the chickpeas for cooked mixed beans of any variety or even quorn mince if you aren’t vegan/ gluten free.

Serves 6

Wheat and gluten free, vegetarian, vegan, dairy free

3 carrots
1 large onion
2 sticks of celery
1 large leek
1 can cooked green lentils
1 can cooked chickpeas or mixed beans
2 level tblspn gluten free flour such as rice flour
400ml gluten free vegetable stock
1 tblspn tomato purée
1 heaped tblspn whole grain mustard (check its gf)
3 medium sized sweet potatoes
1 knob dairy free butter (optional)

Prepare your vegetables – give everything a good wash. Grate the carrots, dice the onion, slice the celery and leeks. You can also peel and dice the sweet potatoes at this stage and put them to one side.

Preheat the oven to 160c.

In a large saucepan drizzle a little olive oil and add the carrot, onion, leek and celery and sauté on a medium heat for 6-8 minutes until softened. Then add the lentils and chickpeas and give it a good stir.

Add the flour and stir again until the flour is well combined then add the vegetable stock, tomato purée and mustard.

Turn the heat down to a low – medium heat, put a lid on the pan and simmer for 10-12 minutes stirring often. Taste the sauce and check the seasoning and adjust the salt levels to your taste. Once you have a nice thick sauce and all of the vegetables are completely softened then remove from the heat.

While that is cooking boil your sweet potatoes until they break apart under soft pressure. Drain and add some dairy free butter and mash until creamy.

Pour the sauce into a baking dish and top with the mashed sweet potato then put it in the oven for 20-15 minutes until the top is crispy and golden.

DSC_1674

Delicious on its own or served with some simple greens

You can bake this as one big dish and then serve up portions or you can pour the sauce into individual sized pie dishes and top each one with mashed sweet potato before placing in the oven.

DSC_1659

9 thoughts on “Lentil and Chickpea Cottage Pie with Sweet Potato Topping

  1. Pingback: Mushroom and Lentil Cottage Pie with a Root Vegetable Topping | veghotpot

  2. I’m so all about comfort food too. My favorite thing to really splurge on (and not make healthy haha) is green friend tomatoes (in olive oil, ok…so not too bad right?), fried okra, fried eggplant, fried squash (yeah, a lot of fried. oops) and of course sweet yellow cornbread. I’m from Alabama. At least lots and lots of our meals growing up were vegetarian, and we didn’t even know what that meant back then!

    • It was really yummy, I have some of the filling in the freezer ready for next weeks dinner (but I cook the sweet potato topping seperately because I don’t like defrosted potato lol) 🙂

I love hearing what you all have to say!

