Gluten Free / Potato / Side Dishes / Vegan

Hassleback potatoes – simple yet impressive!

I’ve been eating more potatoes over the last week or so as (shock horror) I got a bit bored of having rice and quinoa as my evening side dish. The problem is I find potatoes can get boring quickly! Maybe I’m just going through a restless phase with my food.

Wedges, baked and mashed potatoes have all found their way on my plate over the last month or so but then I decided to mix it up with these fabulous hassleback potatoes. Named after the Swedish restaurant Hasslebacken where they were invented in the 1940s, they are unique because of the way they are prepared. You slice the potato into thin wedges however do not cut the whole way through the potato, you want to be able to fan out the potato. Some people suggest placing the potato onto a spoon when slicing it to stop you going all the way through.

DSC_1921

I might be romanticising this too much but I think these potatoes look like a sunset, bright yellow in the centre and deep dark golden edges…ok I’ve gone mad! But seriously these potatoes have a lovely dark crispy edge and a soft creamy centre. I included some herbs to add some flavour and I used extra virin olive oil instead of butter.

I suggest 1 medium sized potato per person but you could always do mini ones as part of a buffet/ party menu 🙂 just slice, rub with oil, sprinkle with finely chopped rosemary, fresh thyme and some salt and pepper then bake in the oven at 200c for 35 minutes.

DSC_1931

The best bit about these potatoes is that they look really impressive but they are so easy to make, they’d be perfect for a dinner party.

On a completely different note, has anyone else found it annoying that there is valentines day stuff everywhere already? Straight after feb 14th we will be bombarded with Easter eggs then Halloween then before you know it, it’s Christmas again! Just saying…

14 thoughts on “Hassleback potatoes – simple yet impressive!

  1. Love these! My gran always sprinkle breadcrumbs and greated cheese on top for a bit of extra crunchy deliciousness, but love your addition of herbs. And putting the potato on a wooden spoon when cutting is compulsory 🙂

  2. You’re right, they do look impressive. And yes, I am also annoyed at how quickly shops get ready for the next occasion in the calendar. I’m already bombarded with Easter eggs in my local supermarkets – its a consumer pain!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

