Burgers / Gluten Free / Lentils / Main Course / Vegan

Red Lentil and Butternut Squash Burgers – Vegan and Gluten free

I’ve done a lot of thinking about vegetarian burgers recently, I really want to keep experimenting with flavours and ultimately come up with what I consider to be the ultimate vegetarian burger.

The ultimate vegetarian burger has to be satisfying, savoury, full of flavour, a bit of a treat and completely moreish.

I usually make my burgers out of beans but this time I used lentils and butternut squash which gave the burger a completely different texture. It is quite soft but they keep their shape well because they are mixed with gluten free flour. The key is to not over cook the lentils, you want tender not mushy! Also getting the balance of flour is vital because I feel that too much flour and you get this horrible chewy texture and you definitely lose flavour!

DSC_1992

Spicy yellow burgers made of lentils and butternut squash

I added some cayenne pepper and smoked paprika which I think worked really well, also instead of mashing the butternut squash I roasted it then sliced it into small chunks and gently mixed it with the lentils so when you eat it you get big chunky soft bites of squash 🙂

I love cayenne pepper but it is very spicy so feel free to use less, or leave it out completely! A few years ago I was cooking a recipe for dinner and it called for paprika and a red chilli, I didn’t have either of these but I did have cayenne pepper and a scotch bonnet chilli! I swapped the ingredients without adjusting the measurements and it blew my head off!! I didn’t make the same mistake again. I also used to get a bit shake happy with the chilli flakes because it never looked like many were coming out but I’d always regret it.

DSC_2004

Spring onions create speckles of contrasting colour

Last time I made a gluten free burger I photographed it in a bun which kind of defeated the point but the two go hand in hand! This time I decided to serve it wrapped up in lettuce leaves which was fresh and delicious! Ill definitely do this more.

Makes 4 burgers

150g (1 cup) dry red lentils
1/2 butternut squash
6 spring onions
2 cloves garlic
1 tspn smoked paprika
1 tspn cayenne pepper
1 1/2 tablespoons gluten free flour ( I used rice flour)
Small bunch finely chopped coriander stalks
Olive oil

To serve – lettuce leaves, tomatoes and some potato wedges!

Cook the lentils in boiling water for approx 10 minutes until they are tender and split open but not completely broken down. Drain and allow to cool.

Heat the oven to 200c. Peel and slice the butternut squash, coat with a little oil and roast in the oven for 20-25 minutes. Once cooked allow to cool and then slice into small chunks around 2cm in diameter.

In a large mixing bowl add the lentils, butternut squash, finely sliced spring onions, crushed garlic, spices, flour and coriander stalks. Gently mix together with your hands and when fully combined shape into 4 burgers and place them on a plate in the fridge for at least half an hour!

When ready to cook heat a small amount of oil in a large frying pan and fry the burgers for around 4 minutes on each side until lightly browned and hot all the way through.

Serve in the lettuce leaves with any burger sides of your choice, I like wedges and salad!

DSC_2018

26 thoughts on “Red Lentil and Butternut Squash Burgers – Vegan and Gluten free

  1. I love new Veggie Burger recipes. I find veggie burgers are always a challenge for me in the kitchen, they either fall apart or they too calorie dense. I will have to try your recipe

  2. hola!!! i love all your recipes all your veggie burgers are awesome love to make them and eat one or three in one sitting cuz soooo delish…Much appreciate your sharing
    with us … keep the good work spreading your goodies…Many blessings to you…
    I AM Sunshine

  3. Both of my favourite food groups are represented in this single recipe “red lentils” and “pumpkin”…well done on combining the 2 to make something both solid and dependable and utterly desirable as the end result! I am gonna’ have to make me some of these! Cheers for being so clever 🙂

  4. Definitely gonna try making this….always on the hunt for a good veggie/glu free burger! Also, it’s great to find someone who loves cayenne pepper as much as I do.

  5. They are so beautiful! A must-make recipe…

    My friend’s teenage daughter just decided to become a vegetarian. I’m going to give her the link to your website so she can be inspired by you 🙂

    • Thankyou! 🙂 I made a big batch so I’ve been eating them all week! Wish your friends daughter goodluck and welldone 🙂 Hope she finds some recipes she likes xx

  6. I’m a burger but and a long with sausages this is what I miss most when since I have been a vegetarian. I’m all for these though, faux meat burgers are weird although I have had the Linda Mcartney peri peri burgers which are a lesser evil. Good work though, my ones use kidney beans and cheddar with egg to make the hold. These look healthier and tastier.

      • haha “I’m a burger” 😀 I agree I miss sausages loads, I used to buy some nice “faux meat” ones but I can’t find too many nice gluten free varieties unfortunately. Glad you like the look of my burgers, Ive done pink ones (beetroot) and now yellow ones so maybe I should try and design a burger rainbow! 🙂

    • What do you use to bind them? If its breadcrumbs and egg then add more breadcrumbs 🙂 I found that using flour works really well. Also they key is to leave them in the fridge for a good while before cooking because it firms them up. Then just be really gentle when theyre in the pan! Hope that helps!! xx

I love hearing what you all have to say!

