Breakfast / Eggs / Gluten Free / Vegan

Baked Eggs with Mushrooms – And a Vegan Option!!

I’m not vegan although I love cooking vegan foods (often without even realising the dish is vegan until I am typing up the recipe) and I am always trying to think of vegan options for my recipes. One ingredient I think is very hard to substitute is an egg. In baking you can use a wide variety of alternatives but in a cooked breakfast, hmmm, nope! Especially because I have done my best to eliminate soy products from my diet.

This recipe for baked eggs is simple, healthy and delicious. As with many of my recipes there is plenty of room to play around with this and use up left over veggies you have in your fridge. Why not add some herbs, tomatoes, chilli, garlic or even some pre cooked beans!

DSC_2036

The ramekins filled and ready for baking!

For the vegan version I decided to use avocado, this isn’t a vegetable that I eat hot/ cooked often but when baked it keeps its smooth creamy texture giving the same texture contrast as the soft cooked egg.

Avocados are quite high in fat but this is a good fat that your body, hair and skin will love you for. I find them great to have for breakfast because they fill me up for the morning and make me feel like I’ve had an indulgent meal.

DSC_2044

Baked avocado and mushrooms

I always serve my baked eggs with a thick slice of toast to dip in the yolk and use to scoop out the veg. After cutting out wheat and gluten I avoided any kind of bread product for quite awhile because I didn’t trust what was in the gluten free versions of soft white loaves. Recently however I have fallen in love with sprouted rye bread. The brand I have tried is from Biona and they do a sprouted quinoa loaf and a sprouted rye and pumpkin seed loaf, among others. To begin with I really struggled to like it, it’s so different to sliced bread because it is thin, dense and crumbly, however served with a cooked breakfast it works perfectly. I don’t think I’d make a sandwich out of it because it is very filling…but maybe an open sandwich!

DSC_2067

Biona organic gluten free sprouted rye and pumpkin seed bread topped with the baked avocado and mushrooms

Serves 2

Gluten and wheat free, dairy free, vegetarian, vegan option.

300g mushrooms (approx 10-12 closed cup mushrooms)
Dried Italian style herbs
Large bunch of Parsley (leaves only)
Large handful of Spinach
Large handful of Rocket
Salt and pepper
2 large eggs or 1 avocado

Preheat the oven to 180c.

Slice the mushrooms. Heat a little oil in a frying pan and sauté the mushrooms with a pinch of salt and a good pinch of the dried herbs. Once the mushrooms have begun to wilt add the spinach and parsley and cook for a further 5-8 minutes until the spinach and rocket has also wilted.

Divide the mushroom mix into two ramekins or small individual pie dishes and if using an egg then make a well in the middle of the ramekin and crack the egg in.
If using avocado then peel and slice the avocado into small chunks. Mix in with the mushrooms (half an avocado per person).

Place the ramekin into the pre heated oven and bake for 10- 12 minutes until the egg is set or the avocado is starting to brown but still creamy.

 DSC_2058

The great thing about this recipe is that it is completely vegan right up to the point of putting the mix into the ramekins, so if your cooking breakfast for a variety of dietary requirements then there is no need for lots of pots and pans.

What do you add to your vegan breakfast instead of an egg?

DSC_2048

9 thoughts on “Baked Eggs with Mushrooms – And a Vegan Option!!

  1. Pingback: 33 Ramekins & Baking Recipes 烘焙食谱 | Zakka Malaysia

  2. Looks delicious, I love the idea of the baked avocado. I’m a huge fan of scrambled tofu instead of scrambled eggs, but I’ve yet to find a replacement for boiled/ baked eggs x

  3. Hello

    Really like the look of this recipe as you use two of my favorite ingredients – mushroom & spinach and top them off with an egg! It looks delicious and I will defiantly give it a try 🙂

I love hearing what you all have to say!

