Gluten Free / Lentils / Lunch / Soup / Vegan

Vegetarian Sausage, Rice and Lentil soup

DSC_2021

We’re back from Brighton now and although we had a really great time, it is nice to be home 🙂 I’m not back to work until Thursday as we are off to London today for an extra holiday (spoiling ourselves!) so I find myself in a weird stage of not quite being ready for the post holiday detox but also feeling like I have over indulged and need some vegetables in my life!

When you get back from a holiday you have to be really organised with meal planning and doing the food shop because its more than likely that you will have an empty fridge, and this can quickly lead to multiple takeaways. Before we left for Brighton I made sure nothing too perishable remained in the fridge but I left items such as celery, carrots, onions and apples because they do last a bit longer.

This meant that alongside store cupboard ingredients like canned tomatoes, rice and lentils, I had everything to make a post holiday soup! But like I said I didn’t quite feel ready to get straight back to a vegetable soup diet so I dug around in my freezer and found some veggie sausages, perfect, these are a great way to make a soup feel more substantial!
Unfortunately these sausages are not gluten free but they are vegan! You can leave the sausages out for an awesome rich, gluten free tomato and rice soup!

DSC_2033

Serves 3-4
Vegan, gluten free option, dairy free

3 medium sized carrots
2 onions
2 sticks celery
2 garlic cloves
1 teaspoon italian herb seasoning
90g (1/2 cup) red lentils
90g (1/2 cup) white rice
1 can chopped tomatoes
1.5 litre gluten free Veg stock
6 vegan sausages (I used Linda McCartneys onion and rosemary vegan sausages)
Parsley

Chop your vegetables up small and put into a large saucepan with a little oil and Cook for 6 minute, stirring frequently. Add crushed garlic and the dried herbs and cook for a further 2 minutes. Add the lentils and rice and give it a good stir. Add the canned tomatoes and vegetable stock, put a lid on and cook on a low heat for 20 minutes.

Meanwhile grill your sausages, cut into bite size slices and put to one side.

Once soup is ready, add the sausages and heat them through again then garnish with parsley.

Do you have a standard meal you make for when you return from holiday?

I love hearing what you all have to say!

