Beans/ Legumes / Burgers / Gluten Free / Lunch / Main Course / Vegan

Moroccan Chickpea and Apricot Burgers: The Burger Quest Continues!

DSC_0315

Moroccan spices, apricots, red onion and parsley make this burger so delicious!

My mum used to make the most amazing lamb and mango chutney burgers when I was younger, we’d have them as a treat at the weekend and they’ve stuck in my mind ever since! I knew I would never be able to recreate that flavour in a veggie burger but I had the idea to create something just as delicious with the similar idea of mixing fruits in with savoury.

I love dried apricots with chickpeas they match each other perfectly and can be found together in all sorts of dishes such as salads, tagines and now burgers! There are two types of vegetarian burgers out there, there is the processed “looks like meat” burgers and then there are the speckled with vegetables and variety of flavours burger. The latter is the type that made me so in love with veggie burgers, even before I became a vegetarian! Burgers are serious comfort food for me, great for any occasion and they feel like such a treat. By choosing to make your own burger using fresh ingredients you can indulge in your favourite flavours without worrying that your going to pile on the pounds 🙂 I have served mine without the bread (even though I did have gluten free pittas in the fridge) because I wanted to show that a burger doesn’t have to be served in bread with chips. You can eat it as your main “bulky item” of the meal and serve simply with stirfried vegetables and a sauce of your choice.

DSC_0310

Serve simply with stirfried greens and a fresh sauce

As you can see my burger quest is continuing, I am far from running out of flavour ideas and I sometimes find myself day dreaming of running a rustic veggie burger bar in the city or having a burger van at the local farmers markets where I sell a variety of amazing vegetarian burgers, with flavours that surprise people and get people talking. Plus now is a great time to be pushing vegetarian burgers because of the whole “What is in your burger mince?” ordeal.

Haha I just realised I created a new life dream of being a burger flipper!

Anyway back to this recipe…

Makes 4 large burgers or 6 smaller ones

Gluten Free, Vegan, Great to share with friends!
1 Can Chickpeas
1/2 Large Red Onion,2 Cloves Garlic
Small Bunch Flatleaf Parsley
1 tblspn Moroccan Spice (or Ras al Hanout if you cant find a Moroccan mix)
1 tblspn Gluten Free Flour (Rice flour)
14 Dried Apricots
1 teaspoon Mango Chutney
Salt and Pepper

Herby Yoghurt Sauce –
Vegan if you use non dairy yoghurt, Gluten Free1 Pot Fat Free Natural Yoghurt
Bunch Mint
Bunch Parsley
1 Garlic Clove
1 Lemon
Salt and Pepper

Put the chickpeas, red onion and garlic into a blender and blitz until crumbly but not until it becomes a paste.

burger

Scrape the mixture out into a large bowl and add the chopped parsley, flour, Moroccan spice, chopped dried apricots, mango chutney and salt and pepper.

image

Mix with your hands, giving it all a good squeeze every now and then to bind, and then shape into patties and put on a  tray or a plate.

image

Burgers ready to be cooked!

Put this in the fridge for at least half an hour (or freeze at this point if you want them for a different day). Once they have had time to firm up in the fridge it is then time to cook them. You can fry them in a pan or grill them both methods work. They will take around 4-5 minutes on each side until they have browned up and cooked all the way through.

If you are making the sauce then finely chop the herbs and crush the garlic, then mix the yoghurt and the herbs together in a bowl, squeeze in the juice of the lemon and season to taste,  serve piled up on the burger. This will keep in the fridge for a couple of days.

Then serve how you like, as you can see I have enjoyed them with simple greens and sauce…..or in the more traditional way, in a pitta with chips!

image

Good ole burger n chips!

15 thoughts on “Moroccan Chickpea and Apricot Burgers: The Burger Quest Continues!

  1. My jaw just dropped when I saw these – totally yum! I might try making them as “meatless balls” with more of an Asian spin (5 spice powder instead of Moroccan spice) and serve them with a homemade sweet and sour sauce. I know my son will eat them if I tell him they’re Asian! Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

    • oooh I love the twist on the flavours there, brilliant! You should post your own version of the recipe but with the Asian flavours, I bet that tasted delicious!

  2. Not only does this look like a wonderful dinner, but I am also in love with the veggie burger food truck idea. When you get that truck, be sure to include this on the menu and post often where the truck will be. 🙂 hee hee! A veggie burger food truck… Blissful idea!

    • Ah thankyou! Now people are excited about the idea I’m getting rather over excited about it myself! Better get back in the kitchen to make some more burgers hehe

  3. These sounds totally gorgeous! I too love the chickpea and apricot combo and bet they work so well in a burger. I’d definitely buy them from your dream burger wagon 🙂

  4. Wow, gorgeous idea – Chickpeas, apricots and Moroccan spice mix, all packed into a veggie patty, how yum!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

