Gluten Free / Lunch / Pasta / Vegan

Broccoli, Radish and Lemon Pasta

Chilli flakes and plenty of black pepper and a spice kick

I love a good simple pasta dish, my favourite weekend lunches include quick, easy and veggie packed stir fries, noodle salads or pasta. It would be a lie to say I don’t buy jars of sauces for convenience every now and then but I do prefer the fresh flavours of a home made dish like this lemony broccoli pasta.

During the week breakfast is definitely my favourite meal of the day, I have a morning routine which involves waving Scott off to work (usually still in my pyjamas at this point!), making a cup of tea, catching up on my ‘guilty pleasure’ tv such as 90210 or Buffy the Vampire Slayer whilst having breakfast, then I get ready and finally I do a quick tidy up before I leave for work. When I tell people they always think I’m crazy because I get up so early but I genuinely wouldn’t have it any other way. It’s my time for myself to wake up and relax before a busy day.

At the weekend I am still an early riser but I find that lunchtimes are my “me time” because I usually have chores/ blogging/ cooking to do first thing in the morning and only once I have got them done can I then relax. Making lunch is my way of winding down and enjoying some peace and quiet. This is why I like meals which are simple and make me feel healthy and happy.

image

Radishes are my favourite salad veggie at the moment!

Weekends are also my main blog cooking time so meals are made up of either practise rounds of recipes or the finished photographed dish. Yes, sometimes it’s gone cold but I enjoy sitting down to a blog worthy plate of food, I mean lets admit, even food bloggers don’t present every single meal as if its about to be photographed. Most evening meals are just piled on the plate 🙂

Anyway on to the recipe! This has been a staple go to lunch for quite a while and one day I decided it was too good to not be shared. It started off as a lazy lunch to just clear out the fridge, I happened to have wilting broccoli and radishes left so I used them but now I purposefully make sure I have these items in.

Its not a saucey pasta but that doesn’t mean it’s not packed full of flavour. Similar to my Courgette Pasta recipe this pasta relies on fresh produce being lightly cooked to bring out its best flavours. I use lemon and olive oil as a dressing and chilli flakes, garlic and plenty of black pepper to add depth of flavour. I’ve done this as a recipe for 1 because me and Scott eat very different things at the weekend so I am used to cooking lunches for one. Just grab a handful of this and that and you can make some great solo dinners!

Serves 1

Vegan, gluten free, dairy free, soy free, bad things free!

40g dry gluten free pasta
3-4 broccoli florets
2-3 radishes
1 garlic clove
1 lemon. Zest and juice
1 tblspn organic olive oil plus extra for frying
Black pepper
Chilli flakes

Boil the pasta for around 8-10 minutes until cooked, then drain but reserve a few tablespoons of the cooking water.

Whilst the pasta is cooking heat some olive oil in a pan. Slice the radishes thinly, crush the garlic and cut the broccoli florets into around 6 smaller florets. Stir fry the broccoli, garlic and radish until they start to brown then take off the heat and stir in the olive oil, juice of 1/2 lemon and 2 tablespoons of pasta cooking water.

Mix in the cooked pasta and serve on a plate with the lemon zest, chilli flakes and plenty of black pepper.

DSC_0581

What’s your go to lunchtime recipe? Do you eat differently at weekends than during the week? More or less healthy?

4 thoughts on “Broccoli, Radish and Lemon Pasta

  1. I’m glad to hear someone else enjoys getting up early for some personal time! I’m usually up at the crack of dawn – I’d rather wake up early and go through my morning routine (yoga, breakfast + reading) than get those extra few hours of sleep!
    Also this recipe looks great. Garlic and lemon are a great combo 🙂

I love hearing what you all have to say!

