Curry / Gluten Free / Lentils / Main Course / Vegan

Curried Puy Lentils with Plum Tomatoes and Spinach

DSC_1836

Healthy, Low fat and filling!

I hadn’t cooked in the evenings at all this week until last night! We’ve been having a gorgeous heat wave which I can’t really complain about because I’ve been waiting/ begging for summer to come! But it does mean I haven’t really wanted to cook or eat much, all our dinners have been very much “grab and go” and one night I even just had a bowl of cereal because I was too tired from working in the garden in the heat. Last night I was just desperate for some home cooked grub so I made this really quick ‘lentil curry’ which can be thrown together in about 20 minutes (with you only actually needing to be there for 5-6 minutes) meaning you don’t have to spend a long time stood over a hot stove whilst it’s still 30c degrees outside.

I used canned lentils that are already cooked which cuts the cooking time down by 40 minutes! I also used a pre made curry paste to save time and effort! Short cuts like these are definitely allowed and are still much healthier than buying a ready prepared packaged curry!

DSC_1811

Bubbling away in the pan, this is a great quick one pot!

I really liked the sweetness that the baby plum tomatoes added, it made it feel like more of a summer side dish even though it is spicy and hot. I served this simply with some steamed broccolli, which now after sharing photos of my meals with you I think you will know is my ultimate favourite!! This would also be great served with some baked tofu, halloumi, paneer, boiled eggs and of course if like me you have a carnivorous other half then it will also be lovely along side chicken or fish!

Serves 2 as a main meal or 4 as a side dish

Vegan, Gluten Free, Low fat

1 Onion
2 Garlic Cloves
1 Red Chilli
Drizzle Oil for frying
1 tablespoon Good Quality Curry Paste
12 Baby Plum Tomatoes (or cherry tomatoes)
1 Can Chopped Tomatoes
1 Can Cooked Puy Lentils
Splash Water
Large handful or Two or Spinach

Finely dice the onion and chilli and crush the garlic then fry in a pan in a little oil for 3-4 minutes.

Then add the curry paste and the baby tomatoes sliced in half and fry for a further 1 minute to release all the curry paste flavours and mix everything together nicely.

Add the chopped tomatoes, drained lentils and a splash of water and cover on a low-medium heat for 15 minutes (If your pan doesnt have a lid then try just loosely covering it with tin foil). Give it a good stir then add the spinach by just piling it on top of the curry and placing the lid back on. Leave this for 5 minutes and it will just wilt by itself and then you can gently stir it in.

DSC_1830

Great as a side dish or just as nice by itself mopped up with some naan bread!

I have shared this with the “Diet, Dessert and Dogs” Wellness Weekend 🙂

13 thoughts on “Curried Puy Lentils with Plum Tomatoes and Spinach

  1. Pingback: Mexican Style Beany Baked Eggs | veghotpot

    • Hey Bex! Hope you enjoy it 🙂 I love puy lentils, they’re also nice sprinkled in salads or mixed with rice as a side dish. Or simple ‘French style’ is cooking them in red wine with some sautéed onion and garlic, so easy but really rich and delicious!

I love hearing what you all have to say!

