Beans/ Legumes / Breakfast / Lentils / Musings & Contemplations / Quinoa / Travels

Camping in North Wales, UK: Photos, Tales and Recipes

DSC_1969

View from the tent – we spent a lot of time playing football with the beautiful mountains behind us.

It’s been over a week since we got back from our 4 day camping holiday on Shell Island based in the North of Wales and I’m definitely missing the fresh air, simple food and sunshine. I had such a great time, I’ve definitely caught the camping bug!! Even when it rained on our first night it was fine because we just all piled into the largest tent, opened some ciders and played Monopoly πŸ™‚ I enjoyed being outside all of the time, you become less bothered about what your hair is doing (ok it took me a couple of days to calm down about my constant “wind hair”) and you spend a whole day bare foot. I even wasn’t fussed about sticking a chopping board down on the grass and preparing my food free style as I sunbathed.

DSC_1917

Luckily Kelly, Scott’s sister, was prepared with a gas stove for lots of tea drinking! Even in the sunshine we like our tea πŸ™‚

It was a 5 hour drive to get to Wales but it passed quickly as the view was just spectacular! Long narrow winding roads built into the sides of hills provided miles of greenery, farmland and beautiful skies, we even had to stop to let around 100 cows cross the road. By the time we got there we were quite tired and in need of a good leg stretch though so I think that made it even more pleasing to see big open fields and views of the mountains as our home for the next 4 days. In true British style I was very thankful to be handed a cup of tea almost as soon as we had parked πŸ™‚

The first night we lit the BBQ and I excitedly prepared my first camping recipe idea – Rattatouille parcels! I chopped red onion, courgette, mushrooms and garlic then added chopped tomatoes and some seasoning and wrapped it up in foil then cooked it on the BBQ. It was perfect and I had the first lot in a wrap with some hummous and grated cheese then I had the second parcel served with a home made lentil mix. The Rattatouille parcels cooked much better once I nestled them into the actual coals rather than placing it onto the grill so I would recommend doing this (same with potatoes and corn on the cobb)

I bought myself a portable firepit after getting there because I realised we could not put our disposable BBQs directly onto the grass (campsite rules), but the bags of coal inside the disposables fit perfectly into my little firepit and did well as my own personal little vegetarian oven πŸ™‚

DSC_1924

Mushroom, Red Onion and Courgette chopped and ready to be made into a rattatouille parcel

DSC_1985

The Rattatouille parcels and lentils cooking

DSC_2003

I transferred it into a mess tin ready to add my lentils!

DSC_2011

My Spicy Lentil and Quinoa mix

Lentil and Quinoa Mix (makes enough to serve 1-2):
1/2 Cup Lentils
1/4 Cup Quinoa
1/2 teaspoon Paprika
1/2 teaspoon Garlic Powder
1/2 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper
1/2 teaspoon Dried Oregano

Mix all the ingredients together in a zip lock freezer bag and pack to take camping with you. Once ready to cook tip into a pan/ mess tin and add enough water to cover the mixture with 1cm extra on top. Cover with a lid such as a larger mess tin or some foil and then cook on a stove or bbq for around 15 minutes untill the water has been absorbed and the lentils and quinoa are cooked. You may need to add a splash more water so keep an eye on it! This was such a fab dish and really easy to prepare, you could try using all different kinds of flavours but stick to fast cooking lentils such as red lentils.

DSC_1941

My favourite camping breakfast was porridge made with almond milk and topped with walnuts and dates!

We went on a day trip to Beddgelert which was literally stunning! Local folklore has it that this is the town where a prince came home from hunting one day to find a gruesome scene of torn sheets, blood on the walls and the babies cot overturned. In the middle of the room was his dog Gelert covered in blood so out of despair and rage he killed the dog with one fatal blow of his sword. He then went to recover what he thought would be his child’s body but he instead found his baby unharmed and a huge dead wolf laying on the floor. He became so overwhelmed with grief for the loss of his dog who had actually saved the child that he is said to have never smiled again. He gave him a grand burial and named the town Beddgelert (or bed of Gelert). There was a grave and a statue for him along a gorgeous walk and the town was beautifully quaint with a few shops, an ice cream parlour etc and a river running through the middle.

We also visited a town called Porthmadog where we sat and ate fish shop chips next to an old steam rail line and hoped the seagulls flying overhead weren’t brave enough to try swooping and grabbing the food!

DSC_2054

The river and cobbled stone walls of Beddgelert.

DSC_2062

On my way to find Gelert’s grave!

So on the last night after a busy day walking through different towns and driving for hours along the coast we all got back pretty hungry! I had some ratatouille vegetables left so I mixed them with a can of mixed beans in a chilli sauce. It was really delicious and so so simple! I felt like I was cheating slightly by buying the beans already in a sauce but it was a lovely organic brand and it meant I only had to pack one can for a whole meal πŸ™‚ I heated it all up in a mess tin on my fire pot and then I snuggled some foil wrapped corn on the Cobb into the coals underneath.

I served this with salad and corn and I also had some bread and hummous! We spent the last night drinking jΓ€germeister and playing card games in the tent once it had got too dark and cold to sit watching the fire burn out any longer.

DSC_2101

The chilli beans heating through with the corn cooking underneath!

DSC_2103

My last dinner of the camping trip, it was delicious!

DSC_2104

The corn cooked really well wrapped in the foil!

This was such a great holiday and camping was much more relaxing than I had anticipated! I would definitely like to go camping again and now I’ve got my cute little firepit I want to try all kinds of yummy camping foods! πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Camping in North Wales, UK: Photos, Tales and Recipes

  1. Hello Veggie One, You came so close to the Beach House. We live just up the road from Beddgelert! How cool! Next time pop buy and we’ll have a beetroot juice. The new recipes all look amazing, beautiful stuff. Take it easy, lee

    • I was thinking of you guys before we went camping!! If I’d known I definitely would have popped in πŸ™‚ thank you for checking out my recipes! Very glad you like them! X

  2. Ahh! I loved this post! I’m originally from North Wales (Llandudno)
    I went to Shell Island when I was little.
    If you go again, you should go to Betws y Coed, it’s not far from Beddgelert and it’s really pretty
    There’s a place near it called Swallow Falls, which is a big waterfall- beautiful!
    Ok, enough of my tour guide! haha
    The ratatouille parcels are a great idea and look yum!

    • We’re going to go back again next summer I think so I will definitely check out your recommendations thanks πŸ™‚ Glad to have brought back some nostalgia for you hehe! It was beautiful

  3. That looks like a fantastic camping meal! The Spicy Lentil and Quinoa mix and the porridge and the rattatouille all look yum! I am amazed that you can make them without a kitchen around…(honestly I have never camped before) I love the old walls of Beddgelert…looks like a fairy tale setting πŸ˜‰ I would love to visit the North Wales someday!

    • It is so beautiful in North Wales I would recommend a visit πŸ™‚ I did a bit of food planning before I left but I tried to choose things which don’t need a huge amount of preparation once in a field!

  4. This is so helpful Becky as Sean and I are planning a month long walk with camping every other night. The lentil mix is a great idea and the ratatouille & porrige too. πŸ™‚

    • I would really recommend the lentil mix recipe as you can bag it up in portions and it is light to carry. Also you only need to add water and it is a great source of energy and protein πŸ™‚

I love hearing what you all have to say!

