Gluten Free / Soup / Vegan / Vegan MoFo

Cream of Field Mushroom Soup – Vegan MoFo

DSC_2729

Packed full of flavour

Cream of Mushroom soup isn’t really a British Classic as such, but I decided to make it because its one of my favourite soups and you can forage some excellent field mushrooms in the UK at this time of year! You can view guidance on mushroom foraging and a list of different types of mushrooms found in the UK at Wildfood UK. Adding cream to soups actually originated in Italy and then Campbells (an American soup Brand) really set the trend of cream of mushroom soup across the world!

I used to love the Campbells soup (me and my sister used to sit at a tiny kids table after playing in the garden and have mushroom soup whilst watching cartoons as a treat) but I find it abit TOO creamy for my liking now, my version here has a really strong deep mushroom flavour with a hint of heat from the chilli flakes. The texture is very smooth and creamyΒ  so it feels quite luxurious to eat πŸ™‚ I made mine “creamy” with the use of potatoes and a splash of dairy free milk. You could leave out the milk but I like it because it lightens the colour slightly and makes it a bit silky.

This is also a really low fat soup (My fitness pal said 80 calories per portion) but I have found it really filling and perfect for this colder weather now.

Serves 4

Vegan, Gluten and Wheat Free

14 Dried Mushrooms
1.2 Litres Stock
2 Onions
2 Garlic Cloves
1 Carrot
1 Stick Celery
2 small Potatoes
1 tblspn Dried Thyme
300g Field Mushrooms
Pinch Chilli Flakes
Squeeze Lemon Juice
100ml Almond Milk (or dairy free milk)
Bunch of Parsley with extra to garnish

Prepare your vegetables – Soak the dried mushrooms in the vegetable stock, finely chop the onion, celery, carrot and parsley, Chop the potatoes into largeish pieces, peel and slice the mushrooms and crush the garlic!

In a large sauce pan add the onion, garlic, celery, carrot and potato and a splash of water and cook for around 10 minutes until softened. Add the thyme and fresh mushrooms and give it a good stir then cook for a further 2-3 minutes.

Remove the soaked mushrooms from the stock and add them to the pan, pass the stock through a sieve to remove any sediment and then add this to the pan with the chilli flakes, lemon juice and parsley. Put a lid on the pan and simmer on a low-medium heat for 25 minutes.

Add the milk and then blend until smooth. Top with parsley or a herb of your choice…. or croutons!

DSC_2722

A bit of a parsley overload in this bowl!

I do like a good mushroom soup – here are some of the other varieties I have made in the past, for all the other mushroom soup fans out there!

Mushroom soup

Mushroom, Quinoa and Tarragon Soup

Shiitake and Nori Noodle Soup

Shiitake Mushroom and Nori Noodle Soup

Mushroom and Celeriac Soup

Mushroom and Celeriac Soup with Porcini Glitter and Walnut Croutons

vegan mofo2013

11 thoughts on “Cream of Field Mushroom Soup – Vegan MoFo

  1. Pingback: Pea and ‘Ham’ Soup (Smoked Tofu): Vegan MoFo ‘British Classics Made Vegan’ finale! | veghotpot

  2. Gorgeous unctuous stuff and how fortuitous…we are getting 10 bags of mushroom compost today. That means more mushrooms for free and a perfect way to use these recipes. Cheers for the delicious share πŸ™‚

  3. I don’t eat nearly enough mushrooms–even though they are one of my favorite foods, my husband doesn’t like them so I end up cooking other things. But I actually think he might like this recipe! It’s at least worth a try πŸ™‚

    P.S. – That white bowl is beautiful!

  4. this looks so lovely. I’ve been on a mushroom forage day but am still too scared to eat the mushrooms I see! Have you ever tried RAW mushroom soup?? It is delicious.

    can’t wait until tomorrow!! oh, no, it’s the weekend. Monday, then. ‘see’ you Monday.

  5. Ah it sounds great. I used to love dirty tins of heinz cream of mushroom and even mushroom cuppa soups. I never make mushroom soup because my last effort was an epic fail. May be time to try again!

    • Definitely try again πŸ™‚ the canned soup is a creamy base with mushrooms added after but I have blended the mushrooms into the sauce so its a slightly different texture but much more flavour πŸ™‚

I love hearing what you all have to say!

