Cakes / Chocolate / Fruit / Gluten Free / Sharing Platters / Vegan / Vegan MoFo

Afternoon Tea part 2 – Simple Sweets! (Vegan MoFo)

DSC_2887

The traditional cake at an afternoon tea is scones with cream and jam so I decided to start with those! I’ve actually never made scones before (especially vegan ones) so I searched through different scone recipes online and decided to make these delicious looking ‘Summery Scones’ from the brilliant blog “Emily Cooks Vegan“.

I followed the recipe exactly except for the fact that I made them gluten free by using gluten free self-raising flour and gluten free baking powder; they tasted really delicious and the recipe was so simple to follow!! I felt really proud to have baked something so close to the cakes I’ve had at afternoon teas, although I can take no credit for the recipe 😉

Instead of writing out Emily’s recipe on here, please follow this link to view how to make these amazing vegan scones! It makes 8 scones.

DSC_2877

I have found in the past that sandwiches followed by scones is quite a heavy combination so I decided instead of making more cakes I would include a fresh fruit kebab using a mix of seasonal fruits (and some last of season strawberries) drizzled with vegan dark chocolate.

I used pear, figs, strawberries, grapes and banana and sliced them into bitesize chunks and skewered them onto wooden sticks. I then melted some vegan dark chocolate chips and drizzled them onto the fruit kebabs. Once cooled the chocolate went hard which gave it a nice crisp finish.

You could use any fruits you want and if you didn’t want to drizzle the chocolate onto the fruit you coud serve the fruit with a small jar of chocolate dipping sauce. The great thing about these kebabs is they are light and help freshen up the selection, also they are nice and easy to eat so there is no mess!

DSC_2880

Finally I decided on making mini mock victoria sponges so I bought a basic vegan sponge and cut it into small squares then topped with some vegan cream cheese and then a mixture of lime jam and raspberry jam. These little bitesize cakes were delicious and the jam gives a sharp yet sweet finish to the afternoon tea. You could sandwich the jam and cream ‘cheese’ in between two slices of cake to make it look more like a Victorian sponge but I kept mine open top to show off the bright colours of the jam!

I’ve really enjoyed coming up with afternoon tea ideas, I’ve been to some really impressive afternoon teas with all sorts of petit fours, macaroons and little delicate chocolate creations but if, like me, you’re a bit more of an amateur baker and you want to throw an afternoon tea then I hope I have shown that you can still present an impressive spread without spending a lot of money of needing the skills of a pastry chef 🙂

12 thoughts on “Afternoon Tea part 2 – Simple Sweets! (Vegan MoFo)

I love hearing what you all have to say!

