Bread / Gluten Free / Puddings / Vegan / Vegan MoFo

Vegan and GF Banana and Date Bread and Butter Pudding – Vegan MoFo

DSC_2933

Gooey pudding with a crispy top and a delicious creamy flavour

I love a good bread and butter pudding, the bakery I used to work in when I was 15 (my first job) sells the most amazing thick slices of bread and butter pudding as a cake and it is incredibly rich and indulgent. I wanted mine to be abit more of a dessert that you would serve with custard but still with that lovely rich flavour.

Bread and butter pudding is incredibly frugal and great for using up dried fruits, ripe bananas and day or two old bread. It’s also extremely versatile and therefore by keeping the basic principle of the dish (bread, butter and custard) but adding your own twists (jam, marmalade, berries, nutmeg, fruit loaf) you can create a different pudding every time.

DSC_2922

I love the little crispy peaks the ends of the bread create

 This recipe is another 17th century classic, although the concept of soaking stale bread and mixing it with fruits or meats so that is is once again enjoyable has been around a lot longer. Once the ‘middle classes’ and even a lot of the poor could afford items such as sugar, eggs and cream the classic recipe as we know it today was developed and cemented into British history.

My recipe was adapted from the BBC bread and butter pudding recipe

Serves 4-6

Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Vegan

8-10 slices Gluten Free White bread (mine were quite small so I used 10)
Vegan Butter (I used pure sunflower)
1 Large BananaLarge handful Dried fruits such as chopped dates, raisins or cranberries
1 tspn Cinnamon
400ml Almond Milk (or dairy free milk of your choice)
2 eggs worth of Orgran Egg replacer or your own choice of egg replacer
25g brown sugar (or use maple syrup to sweetnen the mixture)

Preheat the oven to 180c

Cut the crusts off the bread and then spread butter on one side and slice in half into triangles. Layer the slices up in a baking dish so that the ‘peaks’ of the triangles stick upwards.

Slice the banana and slot the pieces inbetween the slices of bread.

Scatter your dried fruit over the top and sprinkle over the cinnamon.

In a jug mix together your sugar (or syrup), milk and egg replacer and whisk until abit thicker then pour it over the bread and leave it to soak for 30 minutes.

Sprinkle over a touch more sugar and cinnamon to give a bit of a crunch and then bake in the oven for 30 minutes.

DSC_2928

This is my penultimate recipe for my Vegan MoFo “British Classics made Vegan” theme. I had so many ideas so I have a feeling you will be seeing a bit more British food making an appearance. There are some recipes I needed a little more time for and there are plenty that I simply didn’t get around to cooking.

If I missed any of your favourite British recipes please let me know!!

vegan mofo2013

10 thoughts on “Vegan and GF Banana and Date Bread and Butter Pudding – Vegan MoFo

  1. Pingback: Bonfire Night Recipes | veghotpot

  2. After watching Friday Night Dinner, the UK series, I knew I had to try a bread & butter pudding. I really would love to make this for the upcoming Thanksgiving, I head home soon in November just in time for Thanksgiving. I am missing home already. The gooey the pudding, the crispier the top, the creamier, then I love it! Cool product, I’ve never heard of Orgran Egg Replacer, is it common in the UK?

  3. being gluten free, and of course vegan, I would just bolt at the mention of the word bread and butter. I’d put it out of my mind. Now I can make my own bread I am so going to be eating BB pudding again! thank you! p.s have you found an agent/publisher yet?! 😉

  4. Coming from an anglophile household with a Lancashire grandmother bread and butter pud was something that we got quite a bit. I loved it but was a bit dubious about some of mum’s inclusions! This pud looks the biz. I reckon you could chocolatise it easily and soaking the fruit in some form of highly flammable and combustible booze would certainly make this something to lust after. Perfect comfort food and a lovely way to end a simple autumn meal 🙂

  5. It looks wonderful! I can’t believe how many awesome recipes you’ve produced this month. I’m definitely looking forward to reading more after this MoFo thing is over. 🙂

    • Thank you!! Once I had drawn out a plan for the month I found it quite easy to stick too but I was up at 6am making pudding the other weekend haha!!! I enjoyed having a theme to follow 🙂 x

I love hearing what you all have to say!

